Groosham Grange

Groosham Grange is a 1988 children's fantasy book by best-selling British author Anthony Horowitz. It received the French Prix Européen du Roman Pour Enfants ("European Award for Children's Fiction") in 1993. Horowitz intended Groosham Grange as the basis for a series, but so far he has written only two books, the second being The Unholy Grail (1999), retitled in 2003 as Return to Groosham Grange. The books deal with serious emotional issues, but they are also light-hearted, imaginative, and often funny at times. They are appropriate for young readers, and advanced readers. The story explores the legend of "the seventh son of a seventh son", and what it has to do with witchcraft.

The famous Harry Potter series has many similarities with this novel, including moving portraits and an unsuspicious teacher stealing a magically protected item in the school, among other similarities. The Harry Potter series came about long after the Groosham Grange books, with the latter coming out in 1995 and the former appearing in 1997.

Read more about Groosham Grange:  Story, Adaptations

Other articles related to "groosham grange":

Harry Potter Influences And Analogues - Analogues - Groosham Grange
... Groosham Grange (first published in 1988), a novel by best-selling British author Anthony Horowitz has been cited for its similarities with Harry Potter ...
Groosham Grange - Adaptations
... A dramatic adaptation of Groosham Grange in three half-hour episodes was broadcast on the BBC in 1992 and re-broadcast on BBC Radio 7 May 5 to May 7, 2010 starring Clive Merrison ...
Anthony Horowitz - Bibliography - Groosham Grange
... Groosham Grange (1988) The Unholy Grail (also released as Return To Groosham Grange) (1990) ...