Great Bedwyn (UK Parliament Constituency)

Great Bedwyn was a parliamentary borough in Wiltshire, which elected two Members of Parliament (MPs) to the House of Commons from 1295 until 1832, when the borough was abolished by the Great Reform Act.

Other related articles:

Great Bedwyn (UK Parliament Constituency) - Members of Parliament - 1640–1832
... Year First member First party Second member Second party April 1640 Charles Seymour Richard Hardinge Royalist November 1640 Sir Walter Smith Royalist February 1644 Smith and Harding disabled from sitting – both seats vacant 1646 Edmund Harvey Parliamentarian Henry Hungerford Parliamentarian December 1648 Hungerford not recorded as sitting after Pride's Purge 1653 Great Bedwyn was unrepresented in the Barebones Parliament and the First and Second Parliaments of the Protectorate January 1659 Thomas Manley Henry Hungerford May 1659 Colonel Edmund Harvey One seat vacant 1660 Robert Spencer Thomas Gape 1661 Duke Stonehouse Henry Clerke 1663 John Trevor 1673 Daniel Finch February 1679 Francis Stonehouse John Deane August 1679 William Finch 1681 Sir John Ernle John Wildman 1685 Lemuel Kingdon Thomas Loder 1689 Sir Edmund Warneford John Wildman 1690 The Viscount Falkland Sir Jonathan Raymond 1694 Francis Stonehouse 1695 Admiral Sir Ralph Delaval 1698 Charles Davenant 1701 Michael Mitford 1702 James Bruce May 1705 Sir George Byng Nicholas Pollexfen December 1705 Lord Bruce November 1707 Tracy Pauncefort December 1707 Nicholas Pollexfen 1708 Samuel Vanacker Sambrooke 1710 Sir Edward Seymour 1711 Thomas Millington 1715 Stephen Bisse William Sloper 1722 Robert Bruce Charles Longueville 1727 Sir William Willys Viscount Lewisham 1729 William Sloper 1732 Francis Seymour 1734 Brigadier Robert Murray 1738 Edward Popham 1741 Sir Edward Turner Whig Lascelles Metcalfe 1747 William Sloper 1754 Sir Robert Hildyard 1756 Hon ... Robert Brudenell 1761 Vice Admiral Thomas Cotes William Woodley 1766 William Burke 1767 Sir Thomas Fludyer March 1768 Hon ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    He felt that it would be dull times in Dublin, when they should have no usurping government to abuse, no Saxon Parliament to upbraid, no English laws to ridicule, and no Established Church to curse.
    Anthony Trollope (1815–1882)