Grand Slam (PBA)

Grand Slam (PBA)

The Grand Slam in the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) refers to a PBA team who has won all three conferences (tournaments) in a single season. After the PBA reduced the number of conferences from three to two beginning in 2004, the term became quite obsolete to some. However, some dispute the claim that a team who could win all titles in a season can be said as a grand slam. The three-conference season format was revived in the 2010-2011 season which means a grandslam is at stake.

The 2000–2009 decade would be the first decade where there would be no grand slam winner; the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s all had at least one grand slam winner. Barangay Ginebra came the closest with two consecutive championships from 2004-2005 but was beaten by Red Bull in the wildcard phase of 2004-2005's second conference. Red Bull could've had won both conferences of the 2005-2006 season but they were beaten by Purefoods in the second conference. Since 2005, no team was able to win successive championships, although Ginebra won two more times in that span, but in the 2010 - 2011 season the 3 conference format was revived thus giving way to all teams of having a chance to win the grand slam.

Read more about Grand Slam (PBA):  Grand Slam Winners, "The Pretenders", Modern-day Grand Slam, Other Usages in The Philippines

Famous quotes containing the words grand and/or slam:

    The most refined skills of color printing, the intricate techniques of wide-angle photography, provide us pictures of trivia bigger and more real than life. We forget that we see trivia and notice only that the reproduction is so good. Man fulfils his dream and by photographic magic produces a precise image of the Grand Canyon. The result is not that he adores nature or beauty the more. Instead he adores his camera—and himself.
    Daniel J. Boorstin (b. 1914)

    Loach: What happened to your nose, Gittes? Somebody slam a bedroom window on it?
    J.J. Gittes: Nope, your wife got excited. She crossed her legs a little too quick.
    Robert Towne (b. 1936)