Government of Himachal Pradesh

The Government of Himachal Pradesh also known as the State Government of Himachal Pradesh, or locally as State Government, is the supreme governing authority of the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh and its 12 districts. It consists of an executive branch, led by the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, a judiciary and a legislative branch.

Like other states in India, the head of state of Himachal Pradesh is the Governor, appointed by the President of India on the advice of the Central government. His or her post is largely ceremonial. The Chief Minister is the head of government and is vested with most of the executive powers. Shimla is the capital of Himachal Pradesh, and houses the Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) and the secretariat (Writers' Building). The Himachal Pradesh high court is located in Shimla, which has jurisdiction over the whole of Himachal Pradesh. The present Legislative Assembly of Himachal Pradesh is unicameral.

Read more about Government Of Himachal Pradesh:  Council of Ministers, State Administrative Structure

Other articles related to "government of himachal pradesh, himachal pradesh, of himachal pradesh":

Government Of Himachal Pradesh - State Administrative Structure
4 Rajya Sabha 3 Assembly Constituencies 68 The Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly has no pre-Constitution history ... Himachal Pradesh is governed through a parliamentary system of representative democracy, a feature the state shares with other Indian states ... The Legislature of Himachal Pradesh is unicameral and at present, the Assembly has a strength of 68 ...

Famous quotes containing the word government:

    It’s no go the picture palace, it’s no go the stadium,
    It’s no go the country cot with a pot of pink geraniums.
    It’s no go the Government grants, it’s no go the elections,
    Sit on your arse for fifty years and hang your hat on a pension.
    Louis MacNeice (1907–1963)