Gazelle Stakes

The Gazelle Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race raced annually at Aqueduct Racetrack in Ozone Park, New York. Open to three-year-old fillies, it is a Grade I event run over a distance of one and one-eighth miles on dirt. The race is sometimes a stepping stone to the Breeders' Cup Distaff.

Inaugurated in 1887, the first New York-bred winner of an Eclipse Award, Saratoga Dew, won this race in 1992. That year she was American Champion Three-Year-Old Filly.

The Gazelle was run at Gravesend Race Track from 1887 to 1916, at Belmont Park from 1969 through 2008, and at Aqueduct Racetrack from 1917 to 1955, in 1960, from 1962 to 1968, and since 2009. It was not run from 1911 to 1916, nor from 1933 to 1935. Originally set at a mile and sixteenth from 1900 to 1958, it was set at one mile in 1959 and 1960. From 1917 through 1920, it was open to fillies three-years-old and up.

The Gazelle Stakes was run in two divisions in 1959 and 1960.

Read more about Gazelle StakesRecords, Winners of The Gazelle Stakes Since 1969

Famous quotes containing the word stakes:

    This man was very clever and quick to learn anything in his line. Our tent was of a kind new to him; but when he had once seen it pitched, it was surprising how quickly he would find and prepare the pole and forked stakes to pitch it with, cutting and placing them right the first time, though I am sure that the majority of white men would have blundered several times.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)