FIS Alpine Ski World Cup

The FIS Alpine Ski World Cup is the top international circuit of alpine skiing competitions, launched in 1966 by a group of ski racing friends and experts which included French journalist Serge Lang and the alpine ski team directors from France (Honore Bonnet) and the USA (Bob Beattie). It was soon backed by International Ski Federation (FIS) president Marc Hodler during the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 1966 at Portillo, Chile, and became an official FIS event in the spring of 1967 after the FIS Congress at Beirut, Lebanon. The first World Cup ski race was held in Berchtesgaden, West Germany, on January 5, 1967. Jean-Claude Killy of France and Nancy Greene of Canada were the overall winners for the first two seasons.

Competitors attempt to achieve the best time in four disciplines: slalom, giant slalom, Super G, and downhill. The fifth event, the combined, employs the downhill and slalom. The World Cup originally included only slalom, giant slalom, and downhill races. Combined events (calculated using results from selected downhill and slalom races) were included starting with the 1974–75 season, while the Super G was added for the 1982–83 season. The current scoring system was implemented in the 1991–92 season. For every race points are awarded to the top 30 finishers: 100 points to the winner, 80 for second, 60 for third, winding down to 1 point for 30th place. The racer with the most points at the end of the season in mid-March wins the Cup, with the trophy consisting of a 9 kilogram crystal globe. Sub-prizes are also awarded in each individual race discipline, with a smaller 3.5 kg crystal globe. (See the section on scoring system below for more information.)

The World Cup is held annually, and is considered the premier competition for alpine ski racing after the quadrennial Winter Olympics. Many consider the World Cup to be a more valuable title than the Olympics or the biennial World Championships, since it requires a competitor to ski at an extremely high level in several disciplines throughout the season, and not just in one race.

Races are hosted primarily at ski resorts in the Alps in Europe, with regular stops in Scandinavia, North America, and east Asia, but a few races have also been held in the Southern Hemisphere. World Cup competitions have been hosted in 25 different countries around the world: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States. (Note that all World Cup races hosted at ski resorts in Bosnia and Slovakia were held when those countries were still part of Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia respectively.)

Lower competitive circuits include the NorAm Cup in North America and the Europa Cup in Europe.

Read more about FIS Alpine Ski World CupOverall Winners, Most Overall World Cup Titles, Most Discipline World Cup Titles, Most World Cup Wins in Each Discipline, Most Successful Race Winners, All-event Winners, Most Race Wins in A Single Season, Most Race Wins in Consecutive Seasons, Youngest and Oldest World Cup Winners, World Cup Scoring System, World Cup Finals, Nations Cup

Other articles related to "fis alpine ski world cup, world cup, cup":

FIS Alpine Ski World Cup - Nations Cup - Nations Which Have Won World Cup Races
... lists those nations which have won at least one World Cup race (current as of November 25, 2012). 6 ... A total of 23 countries have won World Cup races, with 20 different countries winning men's races and 20 winning women's races ... this list are the same as the 10 nations listed in the Nations Cup summary table (with slight changes in order) ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup, world, alpine and/or ski:

    I worked as a waitress till I was fired because I dumped a cup of hot coffee in the lap of a half-drunk guy who was pinching my butt.
    Juli Loesch (b. c. 1953)

    One may say the eternal mystery of the world is its comprehensibility.
    Albert Einstein (1879–1955)

    The shades of night were falling fast,
    As through an Alpine village passed
    A youth, who bore, ‘mid snow and ice,
    A banner with the strange device,
    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1809–1882)

    The goal for all blind skiers is more freedom. You don’t have to see where you’re going, as long as you go. In skiing, you ski with your legs and not with your eyes. In life, you experience things with your mind and your body. And if you’re lacking one of the five senses, you adapt.
    Lorita Bertraun, Blind American skier. As quoted in WomenSports magazine, p. 29 (January 1976)