First Asquith Ministry

First Asquith Ministry

The Liberal government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland that began in 1905 and ended in 1915 consisted of two ministries: the Campbell-Bannerman Ministry, led by Henry Campbell-Bannerman, and then the First Asquith Ministry, led by H.H. Asquith.

Read more about First Asquith MinistryFormation, Fate, List of Ministers

Other articles related to "first asquith ministry, asquith":

First Asquith Ministry - List of Ministers
... Asquith 5 April 1908 – 25 May 1915 Chancellor of the Exchequer H ... Asquith 10 December 1905 David Lloyd George 12 April 1908 Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Government Chief Whip in the House of Commons George Whiteley 12 ... Asquith 30 March 1914 also Prime Minister The Earl Kitchener 5 August 1914 Under-Secretary of State for War The Earl of Portsmouth 12 December 1905 The Lord Lucas of Crudwell 12 April 1908 J ...

Famous quotes containing the words ministry and/or asquith:

    the eave-drops fall
    Heard only in the trances of the blast,
    Or if the secret ministry of frost
    Shall hang them up in silent icicles,
    Quietly shining to the quiet Moon.
    Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772–1834)

    The affair between Margot Asquith and Margot Asquith will live as one of the prettiest love stories in all literature.
    Dorothy Parker (1893–1967)