Fermat Prize

The Fermat prize of mathematical research bi-annually rewards research works in fields where the contributions of Pierre de Fermat have been decisive:

  • Statements of variational principles
  • Foundations of probability and analytic geometry
  • Number theory.

The spirit of the prize is focused on rewarding the results of researches accessible to the greatest number of professional mathematicians within these fields. The Fermat prize was created in 1989 and is awarded once every two years in Toulouse by the Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse. The amount of the Fermat prize has been fixed at 20,000 Euros for the twelfth edition (2011).

Read more about Fermat PrizePrevious Prize Winners, Junior Fermat Prize

Other articles related to "fermat prize, prize":

Junior Fermat Prize
... The Junior Fermat Prize is a mathematical prize, awarded every two years to a student in the first four years of university for a contribution to mathematics ... The amount of the prize is 2000 Euros ...

Famous quotes containing the word prize:

    Eternall God, O thou that onely art
    The sacred Fountain of eternall light,
    And blessed Loadstone of my better part;
    O thou my heart’s desire, my soul’s delight,
    Reflect upon my soul, and touch my heart,
    And then my heart shall prize no good above thee;
    And then my soul shall know thee; knowing, love thee;
    And then my trembling thoughts shall never start
    From thy commands, or swerve the least degree,
    Or once presume to move, but as they move in thee.
    Francis Quarles (1592–1644)