Felidae - Classification - Genetic Classification

Genetic Classification

Genetic research has provided a basis for a more concise classification for the living members of the cat family based on genotypical groupings. Specifically, eight genetic lineages have been identified:

  • Lineage 1: Panthera, Uncia, Neofelis
  • Lineage 2: Pardofelis, Catopuma
  • Lineage 3: Leptailurus, Caracal, Profelis
  • Lineage 4: Leopardus
  • Lineage 5: Lynx
  • Lineage 6: Puma, Acinonyx
  • Lineage 7: Prionailurus, Otocolobus
  • Lineage 8: Felis

The last four lineages are more related to each other than to any of the first four, and so form a clade within the Felinae subfamily of family Felidae.

Read more about this topic:  Felidae, Classification

Famous quotes containing the word genetic:

    Nature, we are starting to realize, is every bit as important as nurture. Genetic influences, brain chemistry, and neurological development contribute strongly to who we are as children and what we become as adults. For example, tendencies to excessive worrying or timidity, leadership qualities, risk taking, obedience to authority, all appear to have a constitutional aspect.
    Stanley Turecki (20th century)