Edah Ha Chareidis - Rabbinical Court - Chief Rabbis

Chief Rabbis

  1. 1919–1932: Rabbi Yosef Chaim Sonnenfeld (1849–1932)
  2. 1932–1948: Grand Rabbi Yosef Tzvi Dushinsky (I) of Dushinsky (1865–1949)
  3. 1947–1953: Rabbi Zelig Reuven Bengis (1864–1953)
  4. 1953–1979: Grand Rabbi Joel Teitelbaum of Satmar (1887–1979)
  5. 1979–1989: Rabbi Yitzchok Yaakov Weiss (1901–1989; author of Minchas Yitzchak, formerly of Manchester Beth Din, England)
  6. 1989–1996: Rabbi Moshe Aryeh Freund (1904–1996; author of Ateres Yehoshua (Chassidei Satmar)
  7. 1996–2002: Grand Rabbi Yisroel Moshe Dushinsky (1921–2003; son of Rabbi Yosef Tzvi Dushinsky, listed above)
  8. 2002 to present: Rabbi Yitzchok Tuvia Weiss (formerly dayan of Machsike Hadass community, Antwerp, Belgium)

Read more about this topic:  Edah Ha Chareidis, Rabbinical Court

Other articles related to "chief rabbis, rabbi, chief rabbi, chief":

Lebanese Jews - Chief Rabbis
... Between the years of 1799 and 1978, a series of Chief Rabbis led the Lebanese Jewish community ... Rabbi Moïse Yedid-Levy 1799-1829 Rabbi Ralph Alfandari Rabbi Youssef el Mann Rabbi Aharoun Yedid-Levy Rabbi Zaki Cohen 1875 Rabbi Menaché Ezra Sutton Rabbi Jacob Bukai Rabbi Haïm Dana Rabbi Moïse ...
Chief Rabbis By Country/region - Israel
... The position of chief rabbi of the Land of Israel has existed for hundreds of years ... During the mandatory period, the British recognized the chief Rabbis of the Ashkenazi and Sephardi communities, just as they recognized the Mufti of Jerusalem ... Haredi Jewish groups (such as Edah HaChareidis) do not recognize the authority of the Chief Rabbinate ...

Famous quotes containing the word chief:

    Perhaps it is the lowest of the qualities of an orator, but it is, on so many occasions, of chief importance,—a certain robust and radiant physical health; or—shall I say?—great volumes of animal heat.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)