Ed Chynoweth

Ed Chynoweth (December 14, 1941 in Dodsland, Saskatchewan – April 22, 2008 in Calgary, Alberta) was the longtime president of the Western Hockey League and Canadian Hockey League, a director of the CHL, team owner, pioneer, and one of the most influential men in junior ice hockey in Canada.

Chynoweth became the WHL's first full-time president in 1972, a job he held until 1995, except for a brief stint as the general manager of the Calgary Wranglers in 1979–80. Chynoweth also helped to form the CHL in 1972, bringing Canada's three major-junior leagues under one banner, and served as its president from 1975 until 1995. Ontario Hockey League commissioner David Branch called Chynoweth "the architect of the Canadian Hockey League as we know it today." In 1995, Chynoweth left his posts to form the expansion Edmonton Ice, now the Kootenay Ice. He remained the team's president and governor, as well as the WHL's chairman of the board, at the time of his death.

Chynoweth died of kidney cancer in Calgary at the age of 66. He is survived by his wife, Linda, and two sons. Dean Chynoweth is a former National Hockey League player, and is currently an assistant coach with the New York Islanders. Jeff Chynoweth is the general manager of the Kootenay Ice. Chynoweth is an ancient Cornish name.

Chynoweth was elected to the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2000. In 2007, the WHL renamed its championship trophy the Ed Chynoweth Cup in his honour. The Ed Chynoweth Trophy, awarded to the top scorer at the Memorial Cup tournament is named after him. Chynoweth was a member of the selection committee at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Chynoweth was posthumously inducted as a builder into the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto on November 10, 2008.

Other articles related to "ed chynoweth, ed, chynoweth":

2008–09 WHL Season - 2008–09: Ed Chynoweth's Season
... of the Western Hockey League, Ron Robison, dedicated the 2008–09 season to Ed Chynoweth, who died on April 22, 2008 ... Ed Chynoweth was the principle builder of Major Junior hockey in Canada as President of the WHL and CHL over the past four decades ... helmets of all the players and officials will display an "EC" decal, representing Ed’s initials ...
Ed Chynoweth Trophy
... The Ed Chynoweth Trophy is awarded to the leading scorer at the Memorial Cup tournament ... The trophy is named after Ed Chynoweth, who was the president of the WHL from 1972 to 1996 ... Chynoweth was instramental in the creation of the CHL, and as its president, he helped create Canadian junior hockey's scholarship program and organized the Memorial Cup into a tournament format ...