Economy of Iowa - Law and Government - Voter Trends

Voter Trends

Presidential elections results
Year Republican Democratic
2012 46.18% 730,617 51.99% 822,544
2008 44.74% 677,508 54.04% 818,240
2004 49.92% 751,957 49.28% 741,898
2000 48.22% 634,373 48.60% 638,517
1996 39.92% 492,644 50.31% 620,258
1992 37.33% 504,890 43.35% 586,353
1988 44.8% 545,355 55.1% 670,557
1984 53.32% 703,088 45.97% 605,620

For many years, Iowa was strongly Republican. From statehood until 1969, it elected only three Democrats to the U.S. Senate, and supported a Democrat for president only three times from statehood until 1984. Since the 1980s, however, it has become more of a swing state in national politics. The state currently leans slightly Democratic; it has supported a Democrat in all but one presidential election since 1988. According to the Cook Partisan Voting Index, which by analyzing recent elections gives Iowa a score of D+1. However, the state is far from homogeneous in its political leanings. Generally, eastern Iowa is strongly Democratic while western Iowa is strongly Republican. Central Iowa is more split and usually decides most elections, though Des Moines tends Democratic. Cook finds that Iowa's five congressional districts range in political orientation. Iowa's 2nd congressional district, in the Eastern/Southeastern part of the state, leans distinctly Democratic, with a D+7 (strong Democratic) score; but Iowa's 5th congressional district, which covers most of Western Iowa, leans strongly Republican, scoring R+9.

As a result of congressional reapportionment, Iowa's House caucus will be reduced to four representatives (from five), beginning with the 2012 elections. The old 3rd district was eliminated. Its congressman, Republican Tom Latham, moved from Ames to Clive and challenged Democratic 4th district incumbent Leonard Boswell in the reconfigured 3rd District, which covers southwestern Iowa and stretches from Council Bluffs to Des Moines. Republican Steve King saw his 5th district renumbered as the 4th and reconfigured to take in northwestern and some of north-central Iowa. Former Iowa first lady Christie Vilsack (wife of former Democratic governor and current United States Secretary of Agriculature Tom Vilsack) will move to Ames to challenge King for the seat. Incumbent Democrats Bruce Braley of the 1st District and Dave Loebsack of the 2nd District will run for reelection in their newly-configured eastern Iowa districts; Loebsack will move to Iowa City since his current home in Mount Vernon was drawn into the new 1st District.

Redistricting proposals are crafted by a nonpartisan commission and submitted to the state legislature for approval. Counties may not be subdivided.

From 1968 to 1984, Iowa voted for the Republican candidate in the presidential election, and from 1988 to 2000 the state voted for the Democrat; in the latter election, the Democratic candidate won by little more than 4,000 votes. In the 2004 election, Iowa went by about 10,000 votes for George W. Bush but in 2008, Barack Obama won by a much larger margin of about 150,000 votes.

As a result of the 2010 elections, each party currently controls one house of the Iowa General Assembly: the House has a Republican majority, while the Senate is controlled by the Democrats. The current governor is Republican Terry Branstad, who defeated incumbent Democrat Chet Culver in the 2010 elections. Branstad previously served as governor from 1983 to 1999.

Read more about this topic:  Economy Of Iowa, Law and Government

Other articles related to "voter trends":

Sports In Iowa - Law and Government - Voter Trends
... As a result of congressional reapportionment, Iowa's House caucus will be reduced to four representatives (from five), beginning with the 2012 elections ... The old 3rd district was eliminated ...

Famous quotes containing the word trends:

    Power-worship blurs political judgement because it leads, almost unavoidably, to the belief that present trends will continue. Whoever is winning at the moment will always seem to be invincible.
    George Orwell (1903–1950)