Eclipse Award

The Eclipse Award is an American thoroughbred horse racing award named after the 18th century British racehorse and sire, Eclipse. The Eclipse Awards were created by three independent bodies in 1971 to honor the champions of the sport. Although widely viewed as a national standard, they are not an official national award as Thoroughbred racing in the United States has no sport governing body. Rather, the Eclipse Awards are sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association who select all finalists at the end of the year. Those same voters then vote any of the three finalists in each category. Winners are announced in January of the next year. J. B. Faulconer, the first full-time publicity director at Keeneland, is credited with starting the Eclipse Award program.

Prior to creation of the Eclipse Awards, the Thoroughbred Racing Associations of America and the Daily Racing Form each published their own opinion of annual Champions. For more than a century, annual Champions have been chosen by various bodies and these have been compiled and condensed with Eclipse Award winners by the widely respected The Blood-Horse magazine. As well, Thoroughbred Heritage has their own list of "Champions of the Turf" with many from much earlier years based on a retrospective assessment by their own experts.

The Eclipse Award of Merit is the industry's highest honor. The most prestigious Eclipse Award for horses is the Horse of the Year title.

The equivalent in Australia is the Australian Thoroughbred racing awards, in Canada the Sovereign Awards, and in Europe, the Cartier Racing Awards.

An Eclipse Award Trophy is presented to the winner in each division that is made by a few small selected American foundries with expertise in studio bronze casting. It is then mounted on the hand crafted native Kentucky walnut base to comprise the Eclipse Award on which a brass plate recites the award winner.

The Eclipse Award categories:

  1. American Horse of the Year
  2. American Champion Two-Year-Old Colt
  3. American Champion Two-Year-Old Filly
  4. American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse
  5. American Champion Three-Year-Old Filly
  6. American Champion Older Male Horse
  7. American Champion Older Female Horse
  8. American Champion Sprint Horse
  9. American Champion Female Sprint Horse
  10. American Champion Male Turf Horse
  11. American Champion Female Turf Horse
  12. Outstanding Steeplechase horse
  13. Outstanding Owner
  14. Outstanding Breeder
  15. Outstanding Trainer
  16. Outstanding Jockey
  17. Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
  18. Eclipse Special Award
  19. Eclipse Award Of Merit
  20. National Thoroughbred Racing Association Moment of the Year

Other articles related to "eclipse awards, eclipse award, award":

John Henry (horse) - John Henry's Accomplishments
... Voted 7 Eclipse Awards Voted Horse of the Year 1981 and 1984 Voted Eclipse Award for Outstanding Older Male Horse 1981 Oldest horse to win Eclipse Award for ...
Ramon A. Dominguez
... Dominguez (born November 24, 1976 in Caracas, Venezuela) is an Eclipse Award-winning champion jockey in American Thoroughbred horse racing ... He repeated the feat in 2003, and in 2004 he won the Isaac Murphy Award for having the highest winning percentage among all American-based jockeys ... Dominguez is the recipient of the 2010, 2011, and 2012 Eclipse Award for Outstanding Jockey ...
Allen Paulson - Thoroughbred Horse Racing
... His first American Champion in racing was Estrapade, the 1986 Eclipse Award winner as American Champion Female Turf Horse ... who captured the Breeders' Cup Classic, the first Dubai World Cup, and was voted Eclipse Award as American Horse of the Year in 1995 and 1996 while winning a record 16 straight races ... He was voted the American Eclipse Award for Outstanding Owner in 1995 and 1996, the 1993 Eclipse Award for Outstanding Breeder, and the American Thoroughbred horse ...

Famous quotes containing the words award and/or eclipse:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    He who does something at the head of one Regiment, will eclipse him who does nothing at the head of a hundred.
    Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865)