The ECHL (formerly the East Coast Hockey League) is a mid-level professional ice hockey league based in Princeton, New Jersey with teams scattered across the United States. It is generally regarded as a tier below the American Hockey League.

The ECHL and the AHL are the only minor leagues recognized by the collective bargaining agreement between the National Hockey League and the National Hockey League Players' Association, meaning any player signed to an entry-level NHL contract and designated for assignment must report to a club either in the AHL or the ECHL. Additionally, the league's players are represented by the Professional Hockey Players' Association in negotiations with the ECHL itself.

25 of the 30 National Hockey League teams have affiliations with the ECHL, and 490 players have advanced from the ECHL to play in the NHL.

The current ECHL Champion is the Florida Everblades.

Read more about ECHL:  History, Kelly Cup Playoff Format, ECHL Hall of Fame

Other articles related to "echl":

Luke Erickson - Playing Career
... career, he signed with the Gwinnett Gladiators of the ECHL, where he played for 11 games at the remainder of the 2006–07 season ... He then signed with the Pensacola Ice Pilots of the ECHL for the 2007-2008 season and the Alaska Aces, also of the ECHL, for the 2008-2009 season ...
Luke Stauffacher - Career Stats
... WCHA 24 ... — — — — — 2004–05 Peoria Rivermen ECHL 15 ... — — — — — 2005–06 Charlotte Checkers ECHL 84 ... — — — — — 2005–06 ...
Casey Pierro-Zabotel - Career Statistics
4 4. 2008–09 Vancouver Giants WHL 16. 2009–10 Wheeling Nailers ECHL 26 ... — — — — — 2009–10 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins AHL 1. 0 ...
ECHL Hall of Fame
... In celebration of the league's 20th year of play, the ECHL Board of Governors created the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, to recognize the achievements of players ...
Ryan Kraft - ECHL
... As a member of the Sharks' ECHL affiliate in Richmond, Kraft was named to the ECHL All-Star Team during the 1998-99 season and the 1999-2000 season ...