Dragon Cauldron

Dragon Cauldron is a fantasy novel by Chinese-American author Laurence Yep first published in 1991. It is the third book in his Dragon tetralogy. Dragon Cauldron marks a shift in narration from Shimmer, who had narrated the first two books in the series, to Monkey, who had up to that point played a minor role. Yep found it necessary to change narrative voices after six years of trying to write Dragon Cauldron. Monkey's status as an immortal made him "naturally cheerful even in the most dire of situations. Tough and yet funny, his consciousness provided the right platform from which I could observe a world in crisis." He had to modify the outline he had been working with as he decided that it would be necessary to kill off at least one character in order to provide "jeopardy" to Shimmer and her companions, which in turn would convey drama and emotional truth. This also allowed him to incorporate new material based on Chinese folklore that he had researched, forming the basis for the characters the Smith, the Snail Woman, and the Nameless One.

The story picks up where Dragon Steel left off. Exiled dragon princess Shimmer together with Thorn, Indigo, Civet, and Monkey attempt to get Baldy's cauldron repaired so that they can restore the Lost Sea, the waters of which Civet had used in Dragon of the Lost Sea to flood the city of River Glen.

Read more about Dragon Cauldron:  Plot Summary, Reception, Release Details

Famous quotes containing the words cauldron and/or dragon:

    Double, double, toil and trouble
    Fire burn, and cauldron bubble.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)

    And then at last our bliss
    Full and perfect is,
    But now begins; for from this happy day
    The old Dragon underground,
    In straiter limits bound,
    Not half so far casts his usurped sway,
    And, wroth to see his kingdom fail,
    Swinges the scaly horror of his folded tail.
    John Milton (1608–1674)