Doctor Who New Series Adventures - Publication History - Ninth Doctor Novels

Ninth Doctor Novels

With the revival of the television series, BBC Books retired its paperback Eighth Doctor Adventures and Past Doctor Adventures fiction lines in 2005 in favour of a new range of hardback books featuring the Ninth Doctor and Rose. These have a reduced word count compared to the EDA and PDA lines, with an average page count of about 250. (Initially, the EDA and PDA lines overlapped with the New Series Adventures; the final EDA, The Gallifrey Chronicles, was published in June 2005, followed by the final PDA, Atom Bomb Blues, a Seventh Doctor adventure, being published in December 2005.) Although the canonicity of Doctor Who spin-offs is open to interpretation, the 2005 series episode "Boom Town" makes a reference to the Doctor and Rose's trip to the Justicia system. This took place in The Monsters Inside, making it the first spin-off novel to ever be explicitly referred to in the television series. All the Ninth Doctor novels except Only Human contain "Bad Wolf" references in common with the 2005 television series. Winner Takes All also features the recurring characters Mickey Smith and Jackie Tyler; Jackie also makes a cameo appearance in Only Human. Unlike many of the BBC's earlier spin-off novels, no definite timeframe exists as to when each of the books take place, though the first three probably take place between "World War Three" and "The Empty Child". Of the latter three (which feature Captain Jack), Only Human and The Deviant Strain take place between "The Doctor Dances" and "Boom Town", while The Stealers of Dreams takes place after "Boom Town" as the events of that episode are referenced, although on-screen dialogue in the episode "Bad Wolf" makes it a challenge to place this novel into the show's continuity. However, it is possible that after "Boom Town", the Doctor, Rose and Jack went somewhere else before returning the egg to Raxacoricofallapatorious. The first books in the series were popular in the UK. In Canada, the books were not carried by the same distributor as the BBC Books paperbacks, and were initially available only through comic book shops and online retailers when Diamond Comic Distributors took up the contract. During 2005, the New Series Adventures featuring the Ninth Doctor were published concurrently with the paperback Eighth Doctor and Past Doctor Adventures series. However, following the publication of the Past Doctor Adventure Atom Bomb Blues (featuring the Seventh Doctor) in November 2005, no new paperback releases were announced, with BBC Books choosing to focus on the New Series Adventures exclusively as the books moved on to featuring the Tenth Doctor.

Read more about this topic:  Doctor Who New Series Adventures, Publication History

Other articles related to "ninth doctor novels":

List Of Doctor Who Audiobooks - Original Novels - Ninth Doctor Novels
... All Ninth Doctor novels have been published as audiobooks ... Title Author Reader Format Company Release Date Notes Winner Takes All Rayner, JacquelineJacqueline Rayner Thorpe, DavidDavid Thorpe DAISY Digital Talking Book RNIB 2007-05-1414 May 2007 Unabridged ...

Famous quotes containing the words novels, ninth and/or doctor:

    Primarily I am a passionately religious man, and my novels must be written from the depth of my religious experience.
    —D.H. (David Herbert)

    “Blessed is the man who expects nothing, for he shall never be disappointed” was the ninth beatitude.
    Alexander Pope (1688–1744)

    The doctor learns that if he gets ahead of the superstitions of his patients he is a ruined man; and the result is that he instinctively takes care not to get ahead of them.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)