Denver Broncos Seasons

Denver Broncos Seasons

The Denver Broncos are an American football franchise. They are members of the American Football Conference West Division (AFC West) of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). The list documents their season-by-season records from 1960 to the present day, including post-season records, and league awards for individual players and head coaches. As of the end of the 2011 season, the team has completed 52 seasons and will be entering their 53rd at the start of the 2012 season. The Broncos franchise was founded on August 14, 1959 by Bob Howsam and played their first season in 1960, in Denver, Colorado as part of the original American Football League (AFL). The Broncos are 6-4. They became part of the NFL in 1970 after the AFL-NFL merger.

The franchise has experienced two major periods of success. The first was from 1976 to 1981, when the Broncos did not have a losing season (a season when the team has more losses than wins), and won two AFC West division titles, and one AFC championship. The second began in 1983 and ended in 1998. During this period, the Broncos had just two losing seasons, were AFC champions five times and Super Bowl champions for two consecutive years. This second period of success is best remembered for John Elway being the team's quarterback. The Denver Broncos have also experienced one notable period of deterioration. From their inaugural season in 1960 until 1975, they did not make the playoffs and had just two winning seasons. The Broncos were the only charter AFL franchise to never have a winning season during the AFL's 10 years of existence, with their first winning season not occurring until 1973, their fourth year as a member of the NFL's American Conference. They also experienced their two seasons with the most losses ever, winning just two of fourteen games in both 1963 and 1964.

The Broncos have been AFC West champions eleven times, and have also earned wild card berths into the playoffs seven times. They have been conference champions six times and Super Bowl champions twice. However, the Broncos did not make the AFL playoffs prior to the merger in 1970. As of the end of the 2011 season, the Broncos have played over 800 regular and post-season games in 52 seasons, and have appeared in the post-season eighteen times.

Read more about Denver Broncos Seasons:  Seasons

Other articles related to "denver broncos, denver broncos seasons, season":

2004 NFL Draft - Player Selections
... SEC 16 ... Philadelphia Eagles Andrews, ShawnShawn Andrews† OT Arkansas SEC 17 ... Denver Broncos Williams, D. 40 Tennessee Titans Troupe, BenBen Troupe TE Florida SEC 41 ... Denver Broncos Bell, TatumTatum Bell RB Oklahoma State Big 42 ... Tennessee Titans LaBoy, TravisTravis. 53 ... Seattle Seahawks Boulware, MichaelMichael Boulware SS Florida State ACC 54 ... Denver Broncos Watts, DariusDarius Watts WR Marshall MAC 55 ... Jacksonville Jaguars Jones, GregGreg Jones† FB Florida State ACC 2 ...
2006 NFL Draft - Player Selections
... Arizona Cardinals Leinart, MattMatt Leinart QB USC Pac-10 11 ... Denver Broncos Cutler, JayJay Cutler† QB Vanderbilt SEC 12 ... Baltimore Ravens Ngata ... Jones-Drew† RB UCLA Pac-10 61 ... Denver Broncos Scheffler, TonyTony Scheffler TE Western Michigan MAC 62 ... Indianapolis Colts Jennings, TimTim Jennings CB ... New England Patriots Gostkowski, StephenStephen Gostkowski† K Memphis C-USA 119 ... Denver Broncos Marshall, BrandonBrandon Marshall† WR UCF C-USA 120 ... Chicago Bears Williams, JamarJamar Williams ...
Denver Broncos Seasons - Seasons
... Note The Finish, Wins, Losses, and Ties columns list regular season results and exclude any post-season play ... Wild Card Berth Official NFL records as of April, 2012 AFL/NFL Season Team's season League Conference Division Regular season Post-season results Awards Finish Wins Losses Ties 1960 ... ^b Due to the 1982 strike-shortened season, the league was broken up into two conferences instead of its normal divisional alignment ...
2008 NFL Draft - Player Selections
... LB Tennessee SEC 11 ... Buffalo Bills McKelvin, LeodisLeodis McKelvin CB Troy Sun Belt 12 ... Denver Broncos Clady, RyanRyan Clady† OT Boise State 13 ... Carolina Panthers Stewart, JonathanJonathan Stewart ... Ten 41 ... Buffalo Bills Hardy, JamesJames Hardy WR Indiana Big Ten 42 ... Denver Broncos Royal, EddieEddie Royal WR Virginia Tech ACC 43 ... Minnesota Vikings Johnson, TyrellTyrell Johnson S Arkansas State Sun. 49ers Wallace, CodyCody Wallace C Texas A M Big 108 ... Denver Broncos Lichtensteiger, KoryKory Lichtensteiger C Bowling Green MAC 109 ... Philadelphia Eagles ...
2005 NFL Draft - Player Selections
... RoscoeRoscoe Parrish WR Miami (FL) ACC 56 ... Denver Broncos Williams, DarrentDarrent Williams CB Oklahoma State Big 57 ... New York Jets Miller, JustinJustin Miller ... Arizona Cardinals Green, EricEric Green CB Virginia Tech ACC 76 ... Denver Broncos Paymah, KarlKarl Paymah CB Washington State Pac-10 77 ... Philadelphia Eagles Moats, RyanRyan ... DT Utah MWC 89 ... Carolina Panthers Ellison, AtiyyahAtiyyah Ellison DT Missouri Big 3. 89.5– Denver Broncos selection forfeited due to salary-cap violations ...

Famous quotes containing the word seasons:

    When the ice is covered with snow, I do not suspect the wealth under my feet; that there is as good as a mine under me wherever I go. How many pickerel are poised on easy fin fathoms below the loaded wain! The revolution of the seasons must be a curious phenomenon to them. At length the sun and wind brush aside their curtain, and they see the heavens again.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)