Cy Young Award

The Cy Young Award is an honor given annually in baseball to the best pitchers in Major League Baseball (MLB), one each for the American League (AL) and National League (NL). The award was first introduced in 1956 by Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955. The award was originally given to the single best pitcher in the major leagues, but in 1967, after the retirement of Frick, the award was given to one pitcher in each league.

Each league's award is voted on by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, with one representative from each team, which means 14 ballots are cast for the American League winner, and 16 ballots are cast for the National League. As of the 2010 season, each voter places a vote for first, second, third, fourth and fifth place among the pitchers of each league. The formula used to calculate the final scores is a weighted sum of the votes. The pitcher with the highest score in each league wins the award. If two pitchers receive the same number of votes, the award is shared. The current formula started in the 2010 season. Before that, dating back to 1970, writers voted for three pitchers, with the formula of 5 points for a first place vote, 3 for a second place vote and 1 for a third place vote. Prior to 1970, writers only voted for the best pitcher and used a formula of one point per vote.

Read more about Cy Young Award:  History, Major Leagues Combined (1956–1966)

Other articles related to "cy young award, cy young, award, awards, young awards, cy young awards":

AL Cy Young - History
... The Cy Young Award was first introduced in 1956 by Commissioner of Baseball Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955 ... The award would be given to pitchers only ... to the single best pitcher in the major leagues, the award changed its format over time ...
Cy Young Award - Major Leagues Combined (1956–1966) - Unanimous Winners
... There have been 10 people who have unanimously won the Cy Young award in the National League ... Jake Peavy (2007) Roy Halladay (2010) There have been six people who have unanimously won the Cy Young award in the American League ...
Mike Mussina - Professional Career - Baltimore Orioles - 1996–2000
... He finished 6th in the American League Cy Young Award voting and won his 2nd consecutive Gold Glove ... finished second in the American League Cy Young Award voting that year behind Pedro Martínez ... He finished 6th in voting for the Cy Young Award that year ...
NL Cy Young - References
... General "Cy Young Award on Baseball Almanac" ... Retrieved 2008-10-02 "Cy Young Award winners" ... Retrieved 2008-10-02 "Most Valuable Player MVP Awards Cy Young Awards Winners" ...
Dean Chance
... In 1964, Chance became at the time the youngest pitcher to win the Cy Young Award when, as a member of the Los Angeles Angels, he led the American League in wins (20), innings pitched (278 ⅓) and earned run ... At the time, only one Cy Young Award was given in all of MLB since 1967, separate awards have been given in the AL and the National League ... Chance's Cy Young Award was the third in a string of five consecutive Cy Young Awards won by a pitcher from a Los Angeles team ...

Famous quotes containing the words award and/or young:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    The Young Man’s Best Companion, The Farrier’s Sure Guide, The Veterinary Surgeon, Paradise Lost, The Pilgrim’s Progress, Robinson Crusoe, Ash’s Dictionary, and Walkingame’s Arithmetic, constituted his library; and though a limited series, it was one from which he had acquired more sound information by diligent perusal than many a man of opportunities had done from a furlong of laden shelves.
    Thomas Hardy (1840–1928)