Critics' Circle Theatre Awards - Awards 1982 To Present - Best Director

Best Director

  • 2012 – Benedict Andrews for Three Sisters
  • 2011 – Mike Leigh for Grief
  • 2010 – Michael Grandage for King Lear (Donmar Warehouse), jointly with Thea Sharrock for After the Dance (National Theatre)
  • 2009 – Rupert Goold for Enron
  • 2008 – Michael Grandage for Ivanov and The Chalk Garden
  • 2007 – Rupert Goold for Macbeth (Minerva Theatre Chichester and Gielgud Theatre London)
  • 2006 – John Tiffany for Black Watch (National Theatre of Scotland at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe)
  • 2005 – Michael Grandage for The Wild Duck
  • 2004 – Rufus Norris for Festen
  • 2003 – Howard Davies for Mourning Becomes Electra
  • 2002 – Sam Mendes for Twelfth Night and Uncle Vanya
  • 2001 – Robert Lepage for The Far Side of the Moon
  • 2000 – Michael Grandage for As You Like It, Passion Play and Merrily We Roll Along
  • 1999 – Trevor Nunn for The Merchant of Venice and Summerfolk
  • 1998 – Howard Davies for The Iceman Cometh and Flight
  • 1997 – Richard Eyre for King Lear and The Invention of Love
  • 1996 – Richard Eyre for John Gabriel Borkman and his revived Guys and Dolls
  • 1995 – Sam Mendes for The Glass Menagerie
  • 1994 – Sean Mathias for Design for Living and Les Parents terribles
  • 1993 – Terry Hands for Tamburlaine the Great
  • 1992 – Stephen Daldry for An Inspector Calls
  • 1991 – Trevor Nunn for Timon of Athens
  • 1990 – Sir Peter Hall for The Wild Duck; Robert Lepage for Tectonic Plates
  • 1989 – Nicholas Hytner for Ghetto and Miss Saigon
  • 1988 – Peter Brook for The Mahabharata (1989 film)
  • 1987 – Declan Donnellan for Twelfth Night
  • 1986 – Mike Alfreds for The Cherry Orchard
  • 1985 – Bill Bryden for The Mysteries
  • 1984 – Peter Gill for Venice Preserved and Fool for Love
  • 1983 – (classical) Terry Hands for Cyrano de Bergerac
  • 1983 – (modern) Giles Havergal for Men Should Weep
  • 1982 – James Roose-Evans for 84 Charing Cross Road

Read more about this topic:  Critics' Circle Theatre Awards, Awards 1982 To Present

Other articles related to "best director, director, directors":

List Of Australian Academy Award Winners And Nominees - Craft - Best Director
... Academy Award for Best Director Year Name Film Status Milestone Ref(s) 1942 John Farrow Wake Island Nominated 1983 Bruce Beresford Tender Mercies Nominated 1985 Peter Weir Witness ...
Best Director - Television Award
... Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special Best Director (MMVA Award). ...
Director - Other
... Director (colonial), head of chartered company's colonial administration in a territory Director (education), head of a university or other educational body Director (military), a ... Director, the spatial and temporal average of the orientation of the long molecular axis within a small volume element of liquid crystal The Director, a complex artificial ...
List Of Latin American Academy Award Winners And Nominees - Best Director
... This list focuses on Latin American-born directors ... Director Year Name Country Film Status Milestone 1985 Héctor Babenco Kiss of the Spider Woman Nominated Babenco is an Argentine-born Brazilian director ...

Famous quotes containing the word director:

    When General Motors has to go to the bathroom ten times a day, the whole country’s ready to let go. You heard of that market crash in ‘29? I predicted that.... I was nursing a director of General Motors. Kidney ailment, they said; nerves, I said. Then I asked myself, “What’s General Motors got to be nervous about?” “Overproduction,” I says. “Collapse.”
    John Michael Hayes (b. 1919)