Coppa Placci

The Coppa Placci is a semi classic European bicycle race held between Imola, Italy and San Marino. Since 2005, the race has been organised as a 1.HC event on the UCI Europe Tour.

The race is named after Antonio Placci, a cyclist born in Imola who died in 1921, two years before the race was created.

Because of sponsorship problems, in 2010 the race has been excluded from the UCI Europe Tour and was reserved to the Elite/Under 23 Category.

In 2011 the race was held as Giro della Romagna - Coppa Placci and won by Oscar Gatto.

In 2012 the race also merged with another italian classic, the Giro del Veneto; the Giro del Veneto - Coppa Placci was won again by Oscar Gatto.

The race will return in 2013 as Coppa Placci. The edition is scheduled on 16 Ocotber 2013 as a 1.1 event.

Read more about Coppa Placci:  Winners

Other articles related to "coppa placci":

Carrera (cycling Team) - Most Important Wins
... Giro del Trentino (Visentini) 1985 Giro del Lazio (Bontempi) 1986 Coppa Placci (Bontempi) Gent–Wevelgem (Bontempi) Paris–Brussels (Bontempi) General Classification Crit ...
Coppa Placci - Winners
... Vini-Selle Italia *as Giro della Romagna - Coppa Placci **as Giro del Veneto - Coppa Placci ...
Acqua & Sapone - Major Results
... Ondrej Sosenka 1st GP Fred Mengoni, Andrea Tonti 1st Giro del Veneto, Rinaldo Nocentini 1st Coppa Placci, Rinaldo Nocentini 2nd Tre Valli Varesine, Rinaldo Nocentini 2nd Overall Course de la Paix, Andrea Tonti 2007 1st ...