Church of The Presidents (New Jersey)

Church Of The Presidents (New Jersey)

The Church of the Presidents is a former Episcopal chapel on the Jersey Shore where seven United States presidents worshiped. It was visited by presidents Chester A. Arthur, James Garfield, Ulysses S. Grant, Benjamin Harrison, Rutherford Hayes, William McKinley, and Woodrow Wilson. All except Grant were in office when they paid their visits to the church.

For approximately 75 years it was a seasonal summer resort church, located at 1260 Ocean Avenue in Long Branch, New Jersey, just across the street from the Atlantic Ocean. In 1953 the Episcopal Diocese deconsecrated the church and slated it for demolition. Local preservationists stepped in and in 1955 the old chapel was rededicated as the Long Branch Historical Museum. Today the building is undergoing extensive structural repairs and renovations. It is closed to the public.

Read more about Church Of The Presidents (New Jersey):  History, Architectural Features, Renovation, Gallery

Other articles related to "presidents":

Church Of The Presidents (New Jersey) - Gallery
... Church of the PresidentsDec 2008 Church of the PresidentsHistorical Marker Building detail,Church of the PresidentsDec 2008 ...

Famous quotes containing the words presidents and/or church:

    You must drop all your democracy. You must not believe in “the people.” One class is no better than another. It must be a case of Wisdom, or Truth. Let the working classes be working classes. That is the truth. There must be an aristocracy of people who have wisdom, and there must be a Ruler: a Kaiser: no Presidents and democracies.
    —D.H. (David Herbert)

    Midnight has come and the great Christ Church bell
    And many a lesser bell sound through the room;
    And it is All Souls’ Night.
    And two long glasses brimmed with muscatel
    Bubble upon the table. A ghost may come;
    For it is a ghost’s right....
    William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)