Chestnut Oak

  • (noun): An oak having leaves resembling those of chestnut trees.

Some articles on oak, oaks, chestnut oak, chestnut, chestnuts:

Carya Tomentosa - Associated Forest Cover
... Mockernut hickory is associated with the eastern Oak-hickory forest and the beech-maple forest ... Three of the upland oak types and the bottom land type are subclimax to climax ... The types are Central Forest Region (upland oaks)-Post Oak-Blackjack Oak (Type 40), White Oak-Black Oak-Northern Red Oak (Type 52), White Oak (Type 53), Black Oak (Type ...
Quercus Prinus - Taxonomy and Nomenclature
... Extensive confusion between the chestnut oak (Quercus prinus) and the swamp chestnut oak (Quercus michauxii) has occurred, and some botanists have considered ... The name Quercus prinus was long used by many botanists and foresters for either the chestnut oak or the swamp chestnut oak, with the former otherwise called Q ... prinus to the chestnut oak is now often accepted, although sometimes that name is declared to be of uncertain position, unassignable to either species, with the chestnut ...
List Of Trees And Shrubs By Taxonomic Family - Angiosperms - Hardwoods - Fagaceae: The Beech Family
... Castanea – Chestnuts and Chinkapins Castanea alnifolia – Florida Chinkapin Castanea dentata – American Chestnut Castanea mollissima – Chinese Chestnut Castanea ...
Quercus Michauxii - Classification and Nomenclature
... The swamp chestnut oak closely resembles the chestnut oak Quercus prinus, and for that reason has sometimes been treated as a variety of that species ... However, the swamp chestnut oak is a larger tree which differs in preferred habitat, and the bark does not have the distinctive deep, rugged ridging of the ... prinus was long used by many botanists and foresters for the swamp chestnut oak, even when treated as a species distinct from the chestnut oak, which was then called Q ...

Famous quotes containing the word oak:

    The leaves are all dead on the ground,
    Save those that the oak is keeping
    Robert Frost (1874–1963)