Canadian Graphic Novels - Publication, Promotion and Distribution - Awards


A number of awards for Canadian comics and cartooning have appeared, especially since the beginning of the 21st Century.

The National Newspaper Awards was established in 1949 with a category for Editorial Cartooning honouring those that "embody an idea made clearly apparent, good drawing, and striking pictorial effect in the public interest". The award's first recipient was Jack Booth of the Globe and Mail.

The Bédélys Prize (Prix Bédélys) has been awarded to French language comics since 2000. It comes with bursaries for the Prix Bédélys Québec (for Best Book from Québec) and Prix Bédélys Fanzine.

Since 2005 the Joe Shuster Awards have been handed out by the Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Association, named after the Toronto-born co-creator of Superman. It is open to all Canadians, including those living abroad, as well as permanent residents, in any language. Along with awards for Outstanding Cartoonist, Outstanding Writer, Outstanding Artist and others, it also features the Joe Shuster Hall of Fame and the Harry Kremer Retailer Award, named after the founder of Canada's oldest surviving comic shop.

The Doug Wright Awards also began in 2005. Awards are given for Best Book, Best Emerging Talent, and, since 2008, the Pigskin Peters Award, for non-narrative (or nominally-narrative) comics, named after a character in Jimmy Frise's Birdseye Center. The Doug Wright Awards also inducts cartoonists into Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame.

Read more about this topic:  Canadian Graphic Novels, Publication, Promotion and Distribution

Other articles related to "awards, award":

3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
... In 2012, 3D Systems began partnering with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies. 3D design software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Choice TV Reality/Vari ...
The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film Sound ...
41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards, Documentary Awards) Jane Fonda (Pr ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...