Buyang Language - Subdivisions


The Buyang (布央) dialect cluster is spoken by a total of around 2,000 people living mostly in the Gula (谷拉) River valley of southeastern Yunnan Province, China. It is spoken in at least 8 villages in Gula Township 谷拉乡, Funing County 富宁县, Wenshan Zhuang–Miao Autonomous Prefecture, Yunnan, China. Buyang is divided into the following groups:

  • Langjia 郎架 is spoken in Langjia 郎架, Funing County 富宁县, Yunnan along the Guangxi border. It is split by Ethnologue into Langnian Buyang (ISO 639-3: yln) and E'ma Buyang (ISO 639-3: yzg). The name Langjia comes from Zhuang, which means "dried bamboo shoot."
  • Ecun 峨村 is spoken in Ecun 峨村, Funing County 富宁县, Yunnan along the Guangxi border.
  • Yalang 雅郎, also called Yalhong, is spoken in Rongtun 荣屯 (near Longhe Township 龙合乡), Napo County 那坡, Guangxi. It is listed in Ethnologue as Yerong 耶容 (ISO 639-3: yrn).
  • Paha 巴哈 is considered a separate language by Thai linguist Weera Ostapirat. It is spoken in Yangliancun 央连村 (jaaŋ24 lɛŋ31 in Zhuang), Diyu Township 底于乡 and Anshecun 安舍村, Bada Township 八达乡, which are both in Guangnan County 广南, Yunnan. It is listed in Ethnologue as Baha Buyang (ISO 639-3: yha).

Weera Ostapirat (2000) splits the Buyang language into two branches:

  • North (Buyang Proper): Ecun and Langjia
  • South: Yalang (Yalhong)

Ostapirat also classifies Buyang and Qabiao together as Eastern Kra, while Paha is classified as Central Kra. Together, the two branches form one of the two primary Kra branches, namely Central-East Kra. The En language has also been recently included in Eastern Kra (also called Yang–Biao, from yang–biao).

Li (2010) divides the Buyang language as follows:


  • The Funing County dialects of Ecun 峨村, Dugan 度干, Zhelong 者龙, Nada 那达, Longna 龙纳, Maguan 马贯, Langjia 郎架, and Nianlang 念郎. These villages are known collectively as Buyang Bazhai 布央八寨, or "the eight Buyang villages." Together, they make up the largest group of Buyang speakers, numbering about 1,000 speakers collectively. Li further splits the Funing County Buyang dialects into 3 groups (listed from north to south):
    • Maguan 马贯
    • Ecun 峨村, Dugan 度干, Zhelong 者龙, Nada 那达, Longna 龙纳
    • Langjia 郎架, Nianlang 念郎
  • Central Pohe Township 坡荷乡, Napo County, western Guangxi. More than 300 speakers reside in Rongtun 荣屯村 and Gonghe 共合村 villages, while over 100 live in Shanhe 善合, Yong’an 永安, and Guoba 果巴 villages; also in Renhe village 仁合村. 400 speakers total.

Western (Paha)

  • In Guangnan County, Yanglian has around 500 Paha speakers, and Anshe only has about 100 speakers left. 600 speakers total.

Languages closely related to Buyang include Qabiao, En, and also Paha if considered a separate language.

Read more about this topic:  Buyang Language

Other articles related to "subdivisions, subdivision":

List Of Settlements In Corinthia - By Municipality
... Subdivisions of the municipality of Corinth Municipal unit of Assos-Lechaio Assos Kato Assos Lechaio Perigiali Municipal unit of Corinth Ancient Corinth Corinth Examilia Solomos ...
Regions Of Singapore
... The regions of Singapore are urban planning subdivisions demarcated by the Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore to aid in its planning efforts ... organizations, these regions are not administrative subdivisions ... These subdivisions are incompatible with the regions subdivisions ...
Census Geographic Units Of Canada - Census Consolidated Subdivisions
... A census consolidated subdivision is a geographic unit between census division and census subdivision ... It is a combination of adjacent census subdivisions typically consisting of larger, more rural census subdivisions and smaller, more densely-populated census subdivisions ...
Census Geographic Units Of Canada - Census Subdivisions
... Census subdivisions generally correspond to the municipalities of Canada, as determined by provincial and territorial legislation ... Statistics Canada has created census subdivisions in cooperation with the provinces of British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nova Scotia as equivalents for municipalities ... The Indian reserve and Indian settlement census subdivisions are determined according to criteria established by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada ...