British Speedway Under 21 Championship

British Speedway Under 21 Championship

The British Speedway Under-21 Championship (also known as the British Junior Speedway Championship) is an annual speedway competition open to riders of British nationality aged at least fifteen on the date of the first meeting, and under twenty-one on 1 January in the year of the competition. Sixteen riders plus three reserves take part in 20 heats with each rider facing each other once. The two riders which accumulate the highest amount of points over the heats go straight to the final. The next four highest point scorers take part in a race-off, with first and second place riders also progressing to the final. The winner of the final is declared British Under-21 Champion. Previous winners include former World Champions Mark Loram and Gary Havelock. The 2009 championship was won by Lewis Bridger who defeated defending champion Tai Woffinden in the final. Joe Haines was third and Ben Barker finished fourth.

Read more about British Speedway Under 21 ChampionshipQualification, British Under-21 Champions

Other articles related to "british speedway under 21 championship, championship":

British Speedway Under 21 Championship - British Under-21 Champions
... Louis Dean Barker Year Winner Runner-up Third 1990 Joe Screen Mark Loram Chris Louis Championship not held 1992 ... Scott Smith Joe Screen Mark Loram 1993 Carl ...

Famous quotes containing the words speedway and/or british:

    The improved American highway system ... isolated the American-in-transit. On his speedway ... he had no contact with the towns which he by-passed. If he stopped for food or gas, he was served no local fare or local fuel, but had one of Howard Johnson’s nationally branded ice cream flavors, and so many gallons of Exxon. This vast ocean of superhighways was nearly as free of culture as the sea traversed by the Mayflower Pilgrims.
    Daniel J. Boorstin (b. 1914)

    Swans moulting die, snow melts to tears,
    Roses do blush and hang their heads,
    Henry Noel, British poet, and William Strode, British poet. Beauty Extolled (attributed to Noel and to Strode)