British Guiana

British Guiana was the name of the British colony on the northern coast of South America, now the independent nation of Guyana.

The area was originally settled by the Dutch at the start of the 17th century as the colonies of Essequibo, Demerara, and Berbice. These three colonies were captured by the British in 1796; they were returned to the (Dutch) Batavian Republic in 1802, but were again captured by British forces a year later and were officially ceded to the United Kingdom in 1814, and consolidated into a single colony in 1831. The colony's capital was at Georgetown (known as Stabroek prior to 1812). Guyana went on to become independent of the United Kingdom on 26 May 1966.

Read more about British Guiana:  Stamps and Postal History of British Guiana

Other articles related to "british, british guiana":

William Lindsay Scruggs - Venezuela Lobbyist
... As a lobbyist, Scruggs published the pamphlet entitled British Aggressions in Venezuela The Monroe Doctrine on Trial ... In the pamphlet, he attacked "British aggression" claiming that Venezuela was anxious to arbitrate over the Venezuela/British Guiana border dispute ... Scruggs also claimed that British policies in the disputed territory violated the Monroe Doctrine of 1823 ...
Jock Campbell, Baron Campbell Of Eskan - Arriving in British Guiana
... Jock went to British Guiana for the first time to take charge of the family estates, arriving in 1934 ... at Albion, in the Corentyne district of British Guiana, Jock was appalled by the living conditions of the coolies, the East Indian cane cutters ...
Stamps and Postal History of British Guiana
... British Guiana is famous among philatelists for its early postage stamps which were first issued in 1850 ... include some of the rarest, most expensive stamps in the world, including the unique British Guiana 1c magenta from 1856, which sold in 1980 for close to $1 million ...

Famous quotes containing the word british:

    The British tourist is always happy abroad as long as the natives are waiters.
    Robert Morley (1908–1992)