Motor Racing Developments Ltd., commonly known as Brabham ( /ˈbræbəm/), was a British racing car manufacturer and Formula One racing team. Founded in 1960 by two Australians, driver Jack Brabham and designer Ron Tauranac, the team won four drivers' and two constructors' world championships in its 30-year Formula One history. Jack Brabham's 1966 drivers' championship remains the only such achievement using a car bearing the driver's own name.

In the 1960s, Brabham was the world's largest manufacturer of open wheel racing cars for sale to customer teams, and had built more than 500 cars by 1970. During this period, teams using Brabham cars won championships in Formula Two and Formula Three. Brabham cars also competed in the Indianapolis 500 and in Formula 5000 racing. In the 1970s and 1980s, Brabham introduced innovations such as the Gordon Murray designed "fan car"—which won its only race before being withdrawn—in-race refuelling, carbon brakes, and hydropneumatic suspension.

The team won two more Formula One drivers' championships in the 1980s with Brazilian Nelson Piquet. He won his first championship in 1981 in the Ground effects BT49-Ford, and became the first to win a drivers' championship with a turbocharged car in 1983. In 1983 the Brabham BT52, driven by Piquet and Italian Riccardo Patrese, was powered by the BMW M12 Straight-4 engine, and powered Brabham to four of the team's 35 Grand Prix victories.

British businessman Bernie Ecclestone owned Brabham during most of the 1970s and 1980s, and later became responsible for administering the commercial aspects of Formula One. Ecclestone sold the team in 1988. Its last owner was the Middlebridge Group, a Japanese engineering firm. Midway through the 1992 season, the team collapsed financially as Middlebridge was unable to make repayments against loans provided by Landhurst Leasing. The case was investigated by the United Kingdom Serious Fraud Office. In 2009, an unsuccessful attempt was made by a German organisation to enter the 2010 Formula One season using the Brabham name.

Read more about BrabhamOrigins, Motor Racing Developments, Technical Innovation, Controversy, Championship Results

Other articles related to "brabham":

Brabham BT24
... The Repco Brabham BT24 was a Formula One racing car design ... It was one of three cars used by the Brabham racing team during their championship-winning 1967 Formula One season ... with the Lotus 49, which had debuted a race earlier in Holland, the Brabham seemed almost obsolete, but its better reliability made it the tortoise to Lotus's hare ...
Cooper T51 - A Historic Season
... The Cooper works team fielded Jack Brabham, Bruce McLaren and Masten Gregory, Stirling Moss and Maurice Trintignant were entered by Rob Walker, two 1.5-lit ... Only the five 2.5-litre cars qualified, with Stirling Moss in pole position (Cooper's first) and Brabham starting in third place ... developed engine problems after 21 laps the Coopers dominated, with Moss and Brabham running first and second until Moss's transmission gave up the ghost 19 laps from the end ...
Brabham - Championship Results
... Results achieved by the "works" Brabham team ... Entrant Car Tyres Engine Drivers Constructors Championship 1962 Brabham Racing Organisation Lotus 24 Brabham BT3 D Coventry-Climax Jack Brabham 7th (9 points) 1963 Brabham Racing Organisation Brabham BT3 Brabham BT7 ...
Mc Laren M14A
... competed in the 1970 Formula One season Bellasi F1 Brabham BT26 Brabham BT33 BRM P139 BRM P153 De Tomaso 505/38 Ferrari 312B Lotus 49/49B/49C Lotus 72/72B/72C March 701 Matra MS120 McLaren M7C/M7D McLaren ...
Ahvenisto Race Circuit - History
... The Formula Two race was won by Jochen Rindt in a Brabham BT23 ahead of Jack Brabham's Brabham BT23C and Jim Clark's Lotus 48 ...