Boise River

The Boise River is a 102-mile-long (164 km) tributary of the Snake River in the northwestern United States. It drains a rugged portion of the Sawtooth Range in southwestern Idaho northeast of Boise, as well as part of the western Snake River Plain. The watershed encompasses approximately 4,100 square miles (11,000 km2) of highly diverse habitats, including alpine canyons, forest, rangeland, agricultural lands, and urban areas.

Read more about Boise RiverDescription, History, Recreation, Fishing

Other articles related to "boise river, river, boise":

Lucky Peak Dam
... (931 m) above sea level, the empty reservoir's elevation (Boise River) is 2,824 feet (861 m) ... southern Idaho, including the others on the Boise River, were built by the Bureau of Reclamation, not the Corps of Engineers ... utility, built multiple hydroelectric dams on the Snake River ...
Boise River - Fishing
... The Boise river is also used for fishing, mostly for rainbow trout and, in the winter, steelhead ...
Julia Davis Park
... Julia Davis Park is a municipal park in the downtown region of Boise, Idaho ... park in the "String of Pearls", the group of parks operated by the Boise Parks and Recreation Department that are located along the Boise River ... Being centrally located in Boise, the park contains several prominent sites, including museums such as the Boise Art Museum, the Idaho Historical Museum, and the Idaho Black History ...
Arrowrock Dam - History - Preparations
... another storage facility further east on the Boise River ... As the structure was some twenty miles (32 km) up the Boise River from the Boise River Diversion Dam, routing supplies to the worksite would be a massive undertaking unto itself ... This made the Arrowrock Boise Railroad the first publicly owned line in the nation ...

Famous quotes containing the word river:

    You scour the Bowery, ransack the Bronx,
    Through funeral parlors and honky-tonks.
    From river to river you comb the town
    For a place to lay your family down.
    Ogden Nash (1902–1971)