Berkshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

Berkshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

Berkshire was a parliamentary constituency in England, represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of England until 1707, then of the Parliament of Great Britain from 1707 to 1800 and of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1801 to 1885. The county returned two knights of the shire until 1832 and three between 1832 and 1885.

Read more about Berkshire (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries and Boundary Changes, History, Members of Parliament, Elections

Other related articles:

Berkshire (UK Parliament Constituency) - Elections - Elections in The 1880s
... General Election 10 April 1880 Berkshire (3 seats) Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative Robert Loyd-Lindsay 3,294 32.76 +32.76 Conservative Philip Wroughton 3,272 32.54 -42.50 Liberal John Walter 1,794 17.84 +17.84 Liberal T ... Rogers 1,696 16.87 +16.87 Turnout 8,061 62.37 +2.75 Constituency divided in the 1885 redistribution ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    What is the historical function of Parliament in this country? It is to prevent the Government from governing.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)