Basildon (UK Parliament Constituency)

Basildon (UK Parliament Constituency)

Basildon was a parliamentary constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elected one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

It was created in 1974, mostly from the seat of Billericay. It was one of the best known bellwether constituencies in the Britain, having voted for the winning party in each election since its creation. The failure of the Labour Party to win it in the 1992 election — Basildon would be the first to declare of all the marginal seats — foreshadowed Labour's fourth straight defeat at the hands of the Conservative Party.

Read more about Basildon (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Profile, Members of Parliament

Other related articles:

Basildon (UK Parliament Constituency) - Elections - Elections in The 1980s
... General Election 1987 Basildon Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative David Amess 21,858 43.5 +4.8 Labour Co-op Julian George Holder Fulbrook 19,209 38.3 +2.7 Liberal Raymond Michael Auvray 9,139 18.2 -7.5 Majority 2,649 5.3 +2.3 Turnout 50,206 73.8 +4.8 Conservative hold Swing +1.1 General Election 1983 Basildon Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative David Amess 17,516 38.7 Labour Co-op Julian George Holder Fulbrook 16,137 35.6 Social Democrat Miss S ... Slipman 11,634 25.7 Majority 1,379 3.0 Turnout 45,287 69.0 Conservative gain from Labour Swing ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    A Parliament is that to the Commonwealth which the soul is to the body.... It behoves us therefore to keep the facility of that soul from distemper.
    John Pym (1584–1643)