Baranavichy Voblast

Baranavichy Oblast (Belarusian: Баранавіцкая вобласць, Russian: Барановичская Область) was a territorial unit in the Belarusian Soviet Socialist Republic created after the annexation of West Belarus into the BSSR in November 1939. The administrative centre of the province was the city of Baranavichy.

The voblast was originally known as the Navahrudak Voblast but it was soon renamed to Baranavichy Voblast.

The oblast was made up of 26 raions. On January 8, 1954 the oblast was liquidated and the raions were divided between the Brest, Molodechno (liquidated in 1960) and Minsk Olbasts (Modern Brest Voblast and Minsk Voblast). Thus, Baranavichy became part of Brest one.

Other articles related to "voblast, baranavichy, baranavichy voblast":

Navahrudak - Later History
... December 4) was the centre of the Navahrudak Voblast ... Afterwards the administrative centre moved to Baranavichy and name of voblast was renamed as Baranavichy Voblast, the city became the centre of the Navahrudak Raion (January 15, 1940) ... On July 8, 1954, following the disestablishment of the Baranavichy Voblast, the raion, along with Navahrudak became part of the Hrodna Voblast, in which it remains to this day, in modern Belarus ...