Ayrshire (Scots: Coontie o Ayrshire; Scottish Gaelic: Siorrachd Inbhir Àir, ) is a registration county, and former administrative county in south-west Scotland, United Kingdom, located on the shores of the Firth of Clyde. Its principal towns include Ayr, Kilmarnock and Irvine. The town of Troon on the coast has hosted the British Open Golf Championship twice in the last seven years and eight times in total. Approximately 200,000 visitors came to Troon during the 2004 Open. It was the members of Prestwick Golf Club who first created the British Open Championship in 1860 with the club hosting the event twenty-four times up until 1925.

Read more about Ayrshire:  History, Parliamentary Constituencies, Towns and Villages in Ayrshire, Rivers in Ayrshire, Interesting Places, Some Notable People Born in Ayrshire

Other articles related to "ayrshire":

List Of Megaliths - United Kingdom - Scotland
... Drybridge, North Ayrshire Granny Kempock Stone, Gourock, Inverclyde Gigha Island, Kyle Bute ... Cuff Hill, Near Beith, North Ayrshire ... Draffen, Stewarton, East Ayrshire ...
List Of Places In East Ayrshire
... This List of places in East Ayrshire is a list of links for any town, village, hamlet, castle, golf course, historic house, nature reserve, reservoir, river and other place of interest in the ...
Silverwood, Ayrshire - Grougar
... The 70 acres of the lands of Caprickhill lay in the barony of Grougar, including Holmhead and Miltonmill ... In 1742 these lands had belonged to Thomas Millar and were sold to William Wallace for £170 in 1811 the properties were worth £7,000 ...