Allioideae is the botanical name of a monocot subfamily of flowering plants in the family Amaryllidaceae, order Asparagales. It was formerly treated as a separate family, Alliaceae. The subfamily name is derived from the generic name of the type genus, Allium.

Successive revisions of the influential Angiosperm Phylogeny Group (APG) classification have changed the circumscription of the family. In the 1998 version, Alliaceae were a distinct family; in the 2003 version, combining the Alliaceae with the Agapanthaceae and the Amaryllidaceae sensu stricto was recommended but optional; in the 2009 version, only the broad circumscription of the Amaryllidaceae is allowed, with the Alliaceae reduced to a subfamily, Allioideae.

Note that quite a few of the plants that were once included in family Alliaceae have been assigned to the subfamily Brodiaeoideae (rather than the subfamily Allioideae).

Some of the species of Allium are important food plants for example onions (Allium cepa), chives (A. schoenoprasum), garlic (A. sativum and A. scordoprasum), and leeks (A. porrum). Species of Allium, Gilliesia, Ipheion, Leucocoryne, Nothoscordum, and Tulbaghia are cultivated as ornamentals.

Thirteen of the total of about 20 genera are endemic to temperate South America. Nothoscordum ranges from Argentina to Canada. Allium is indigenous to most of North America, Eurasia, and North Africa.

The largest genera are Allium (260-690 species), Nothoscordum (25), and Tulbaghia (22). Some of the generic limits are not clear. Ipheion, Nothoscordum, and possibly others are not monophyletic.

Allioideae is divided into three tribes: Allieae, Tulbaghieae, and Gilliesieae. Allieae contains only one genus Allium (Milula is merged with Allium in the latest systems). Tulbaghieae contains only Tulbaghia. Gilliesieae contains the remaining genera. Allieae is sister to a clade composed of Tulbaghia and Gilliesieae.

Read more about AlliaceaeGenera, History

Other articles related to "alliaceae":

Agapanthoideae - Taxonomy
... moved to the Amaryllidaceae and later the Alliaceae ... family, Agapanthaceae, while still recognizing the families Amaryllidaceae and Alliaceae ... use of either three narrowly defined families Agapanthaceae, Amaryllidaceae and Alliaceae or a single broadly defined family including all three called Alliaceae ...
Alliaceae - History
... In 1985, Dahlgren, Clifford, and Yeo defined their Alliaceae to include all of the genera that are now there, plus Agapanthus and a group of genera that are now placed in Themidaceae, or its equivalent ... They divided Alliaceae into three subfamilies Agapanthoideae, Allioideae, and Gilliesioideae ... study of the rbcL gene showed that Agapanthus was misplaced in Alliaceae, and the authors excluded it from the family ...
Agapanthus - Relationships
... In 1985, Dahlgren, Clifford, and Yeo placed Agapanthus in Alliaceae, close to Tulbaghia ... Their version of Alliaceae differed from any that are recognized today in that it included Agapanthus and in that it included several genera that would later ... was resurrected and Agapanthus was removed from Alliaceae ...