All-Australian Team

The All-Australian Team is an all star team of Australian rules footballers, selected by a panel at the end of each season. It represents a complete team, including interchange players and a coach, of the best performed during the season.

As no other country could assemble a senior Australian rules team of the same quality, the All-Australian team never plays a game. Although the Australian international rules team was once mainly composed of All-Australians, the team for the annual International Rules Series is currently selected according to the quite different requirements of International rules football.

Sporting Life magazine invented the concept of an All-Australian Team in 1947. A squad was selected from players in various leagues in October each year by a panel chosen by the magazine. In 1953, immediately after the Australian Football Carnival, which was held in Adelaide on that occasion, an official All-Australian team was selected by representatives of the various state and territorial teams. This tradition continued until the 1988 carnival.

Concurrently, from 1982, the Victorian Football League (VFL) began to announce its own team of the year. In 1991, following the VFL's conversion to a national competition and its renaming as the Australian Football League (AFL), the two concepts were merged.

Since 1999, the All-Australian coach is the coach of the premiership-winning side that year.

On 5 June 2007 the AFL announced that it will alter the format of the announcement of the All-Australian team in the future. Ongoing from 2007 the All-Australian selection committee will provide the 40 leading players of the year in their playing positions at the conclusion of the home and away season before announcing the final 22 at a later date during the All Australian Presentation Dinner. Of the 40 leading players for that year provided the leading 12 defenders will be nominated with six to be chosen in the final team, the leading 12 forwards will be nominated with six to be chosen in the final team, and the leading 16 ruckmen and midfielders will be nominated with six to be chosen in the final team. The four interchange players to come from the remaining players of this group of 40. The current All-Australian selection panel is Andrew Demetriou, Kevin Bartlett, Mark Bickley, Gerard Healy, Neil Kerley, Glen Jakovich, Robert Walls, James Hird and Wayne Jackson (Non-voting chairman).

In addition to the senior All-Australian team, each year an Under 18 and Under 16 team is also announced.

The following lists are for senior teams only.

Other articles related to "teams":

All-Australian Team - Records - Most Times Selected
... Qualification Selection in six or more teams from 1953 to 2011 Robert Harvey 8 Mark Ricciuto 8 Craig Bradley 7 Nathan Buckley 7 Wayne Carey 7 Paul Roos 7 Ben Cousins 6 Brad Johnson 6 ...
1953 Adelaide Carnival - All-Australian Team
... The inaugural All-Australian team was named in 1953, based on the performances at the Adelaide Carnival. 1953 All-Australian Team Adelaide Carnival Name State/League Club Neil Davies South Australia Glenelg Len Fitzgerald South Australia Sturt Bob Hank South Australia West Torrens Jack Lynch South Australia West ...

Famous quotes containing the word team:

    They’re two good old friends of mine. I call them Constitution and The Bill of Rights. A most dependable team for long journeys. Then I’ve got another one called Missouri Compromise. And a Supreme Court—a fine, dignified horse, though you have to push him on every now and then.
    Dan Totheroh (1895–1976)