AFC Asian Cup

The AFC Asian Cup is an international association football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). It is the second oldest continental football championship in the world after Copa América. The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and automatically qualifies for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

The Asian Cup was held once every four years from 1956 in Hong Kong until 2004 in China. However, since the Summer Olympic Games and the European Football Championship were also scheduled in the same year as the Asian Cup (2004, 2008, 2012 etc.), the AFC decided to move their championship to a less crowded cycle. After 2004, the tournament was held in 2007 co-hosted by four nations: (Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam), and thereafter will be held every four years.

The Asian Cup has generally been dominated by the top teams from East or West Asia. Initially successful teams were South Korea and Iran. Recently Japan and Saudi Arabia are the successful teams and often earned a spot for themselves in the final matches. Other teams which have achieved success at times include Israel (no longer a member of the AFC), Iraq, and Kuwait.

Australia is the most recent nation to join the Asian confederation in 2007.

Read more about AFC Asian Cup:  Participating Nations, Qualification Participating Nations By Year of First Participation

Other articles related to "afc asian cup, asian cup, cup, asian":

AFC Asian Cup - Qualification Participating Nations By Year of First Participation - General Statistics
9.00 0.00 Bangladesh 17 ... -15 0 2.00 17.00 0.00 Iran holds most Asian Cup statistical records most games played (58 followed by South Korea,56), most ... Japan holds records of most Asian Cup titles (4),Iran shares records most Asian Cup final competition participation (12) with South Korea.South Korea holds records of most semi final appearance (9),while ...
Sport In Kuwait
... team has gained limited success at the sport, with the national team having competed at eight AFC Asian Cup competitions, and one FIFA World Cup, in 1982 ... They have been the champions of the 1980 AFC Asian Cup, runners-up of the 1976 AFC Asian Cup, and have taken third place of the 1984 AFC Asian Cup ... Kuwait has also been to one FIFA World Cup, in 1982, but didn't win a single match, but tied 1-1 with Czechoslovakia on the first round ...
South Korea National Football Team Results – 1980s - 1988
... Score Venue Competition Scorer(s) 6 January 1988 Egypt W 1-1 Doha, Qatar 1988 Afro-Asian Cup of Nations 17 June 1988 Bahrain L 0-2 Jakarta. 19 June 1988 South Yemen D 1-1 Jakarta, Indonesia 1988 AFC Asian Cup Qual. 22 June 1988 Indonesia W 4-0 Jakarta, Indonesia 1988 AFC Asian Cup Qual ...
Syria National Football Team Results – 2000s
... Feb 18, 2004 Arad, Bahrain Bahrain Syria 11 (10) 2006 FIFA World Cup qualification Feb 23, 2004 Jounieh, Lebanon Lebanon Syria 01 (00) Friendly Match Mar 23, 2004 Damascus, Syria Syria Palestine 11 (10. 22, 11) 34 PSO West Asian Games 2006 Date Venue Team # 1 Team # 2 Result Competition Jan 30, 2006 Manama, Bahrain Bahrain Syria 11 (01) Friendly Match Feb 7, 2006 Damascus, Syria ...
South Korea National Football Team Results – 1970s - 1975
... Opponent Result Score Venue Competition 16 March 1975 Malaysia L 1-2 Bangkok, Thailand 1976 AFC Asian Cup qualification 19 March 1975 South Vietnam W 1-0 Bangkok, Thailand 1976 AFC Asian Cup ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup and/or asian:

    I write mainly for the kindly race of women. I am their sister, and in no way exempt from their sorrowful lot. I have drank [sic] the cup of their limitations to the dregs, and if my experience can help any sad or doubtful woman to outleap her own shadow, and to stand bravely out in the sunshine to meet her destiny, whatever it may be, I shall have done well; I have not written this book in vain.
    Amelia E. Barr (1831–1919)

    Morals are in all countries the result of legislation and government; they are not African or Asian or European: they are good or bad.
    Denis Diderot (1713–1784)