58th Academy Awards - Awards


Films with multiple nominations:

  • Eleven: The Color Purple, Out of Africa
  • Eight: Prizzi's Honor, Witness
  • Four: Back to the Future, Kiss of the Spider Woman, Ran
  • Three: Agnes of God, Runaway Train, A Chorus Line
  • Two: Brazil, Cocoon, Ladyhawke, Murphy's Romance, The Official Story, Silverado, The Trip to Bountiful, White Nights

Films with multiple wins:

  • Seven: Out of Africa
  • Two: Cocoon, Witness

Winners are listed first and highlighted in boldface.

Best Picture Best Director
  • Out of Africa
    • The Color Purple
    • Kiss of the Spider Woman
    • Prizzi's Honor
    • Witness
  • Sydney Pollack – Out of Africa
    • Hector Babenco – Kiss of the Spider Woman
    • John Huston – Prizzi's Honor
    • Akira Kurosawa – Ran
    • Peter Weir – Witness
Best Actor Best Actress
  • William Hurt – Kiss of the Spider Woman
    • Harrison Ford – Witness
    • James Garner – Murphy's Romance
    • Jack Nicholson – Prizzi's Honor
    • Jon Voight – Runaway Train
  • Geraldine Page – The Trip to Bountiful
    • Anne Bancroft – Agnes of God
    • Whoopi Goldberg – The Color Purple
    • Jessica Lange – Sweet Dreams
    • Meryl Streep – Out of Africa
Best Supporting Actor Best Supporting Actress
  • Don Ameche – Cocoon
    • Klaus Maria Brandauer – Out of Africa
    • William Hickey – Prizzi's Honor
    • Robert Loggia – Jagged Edge
    • Eric Roberts – Runaway Train
  • Anjelica Huston – Prizzi's Honor
    • Margaret Avery – The Color Purple
    • Amy Madigan – Twice in a Lifetime
    • Meg Tilly – Agnes of God
    • Oprah Winfrey – The Color Purple
Best Original Screenplay Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Witness – Screenplay by Earl W. Wallace, William Kelley; Story by William Kelley, Pamela Wallace and Earl W. Wallace
    • Back to the Future – Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale
    • Brazil – Terry Gilliam, Tom Stoppard and Charles McKeown
    • The Official Story – Luis Puenzo and Aída Bortnik
    • The Purple Rose of Cairo – Woody Allen
  • Out of Africa – Kurt Luedtke
    • The Color Purple – Menno Meyjes
    • Kiss of the Spider Woman – Leonard Schrader
    • Prizzi's Honor – Richard Condon and Janet Roach
    • The Trip to Bountiful – Horton Foote
Best Foreign Language Film
  • The Official Story (Argentina)
    • Angry Harvest (Federal Republic of Germany)
    • Colonel Redl (Hungary)
    • Three Men and a Cradle (France)
    • When Father Was Away on Business (Yugoslavia)
Best Documentary Feature Best Documentary Short
  • Broken Rainbow – Maria Florio and Victoria Mudd
    • Las Madres: The Mothers of Plaza de Mayo – Susana Muñoz and Lourdes Portillo
    • Soldiers in Hiding – Japhet Asher
    • The Statue of Liberty – Ken Burns and Buddy Squires
    • Unfinished Business – Steven Okazaki
  • Witness to War: Dr. Charlie Clements – David Goodman
    • The Courage to Care – Robert H. Gardner
    • Keats and His Nightingale: A Blind Date – Michael Crowley and James Wolpaw
    • Making Overtures: The Story of a Community Orchestra – Barbara Willis Sweete
    • The Wizard of the Strings – Alan Edelstein
Best Live Action Short Best Animated Short
  • Molly's Pilgrim – Jeffrey D. Brown and Chris Pelzer
    • Graffiti – Dianna Costello
    • Rainbow War – Bob Rogers
  • Anna & Bella – Cilia Van Dijk
    • The Big Snit – Richard Condie and Michael J. F. Scott
    • Second Class Mail – Alison Snowden
Best Original Score Best Original Song
  • Out of Africa – John Barry
    • Agnes of God – Georges Delerue
    • The Color Purple – Quincy Jones, Jeremy Lubbock, Rod Temperton, Caiphus Semenya, Andrae Crouch, Chris Boardman, Jorge Calandrelli and Joel Rosenbaum, Fred Steiner, Jack Hayes, Jerry Hey and Randy Kerber
    • Silverado – Bruce Broughton
    • Witness – Maurice Jarre
  • "Say You, Say Me" from White Nights – Music and Lyric by Lionel Richie
    • "Miss Celie's Blues (Sister)" from The Color Purple - Music by Quincy Jones and Rod Temperton; Lyric by Quincy Jones, Rod Temperton and Lionel Richie
    • "The Power of Love" from Back to the Future – Music by Chris Hayes and Johnny Colla; Lyric by Huey Lewis
    • "Separate Lives" from White Nights – Music and Lyric by Stephen Bishop
    • "Surprise, Surprise" from A Chorus Line – Music by Marvin Hamlisch; Lyric by Edward Kleban
Best Sound Mixing Best Sound Editing
  • Out of Africa – Chris Jenkins, Gary Alexander, Larry Stensvold and Peter Handford
    • Back to the Future – Bill Varney, B. Tennyson Sebastian II, Robert Thirlwell and William B. Kaplan
    • A Chorus Line – Donald O. Mitchell, Michael Minkler, Gerry Humphreys and Christopher Newman
    • Ladyhawke – Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander, Vern Poore and Bud Alper
    • Silverado – Donald O. Mitchell, Rick Kline, Kevin O'Connell and David M. Ronne
  • Back to the Future – Charles L. Campbell and Robert Rutledge
    • Ladyhawke – Bob Henderson and Alan Murray
    • Rambo: First Blood Part II – Frederick J. Brown
Best Art Direction Best Cinematography
  • Out of Africa – Art Direction: Stephen Grimes; Set Decoration: Josie MacAvin
    • Brazil – Art Direction: Norman Garwood; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray
    • The Color Purple – Art Direction: J. Michael Riva and Robert W. Welch; Set Decoration: Linda DeScenna
    • Ran –Art Direction: Yoshirō Muraki, Shinobu Muraki
    • Witness – Art Direction: Stan Jolley; Set Decoration: John Anderson
  • Out of Africa – David Watkin
    • The Color Purple – Allen Daviau
    • Murphy's Romance – William A. Fraker
    • Ran – Takao Saito, Masaharu Ueda and Asakazu Nakai
    • Witness – John Seale
Best Makeup Best Costume Design
  • Mask – Michael Westmore and Zoltan Elek
    • The Color Purple – Ken Chase
    • Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins – Carl Fullerton
  • Ran – Emi Wada
    • The Color Purple – Aggie Guerard Rodgers
    • The Journey of Natty Gann – Albert Wolsky
    • Out of Africa – Milena Canonero
    • Prizzi's Honor – Donfeld
Best Film Editing Best Visual Effects
  • Witness – Thom Noble
    • A Chorus Line – John Bloom
    • Out of Africa – Fredric Steinkamp, William Steinkamp, Pembroke Herring and Sheldon Kahn
    • Prizzi's Honor – Rudi Fehr and Kaja Fehr
    • Runaway Train – Henry Richardson
  • Cocoon – Ken Ralston, Ralph McQuarrie, Scott Farrar and David Berry
    • Return to Oz – Will Vinton, Ian Wingrove, Zoran Perisic and Michael Lloyd
    • Young Sherlock Holmes – Dennis Muren, Kit West, John Ellis and David W. Allen

Read more about this topic:  58th Academy Awards

Other articles related to "awards, award":

The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Choice TV Reality/V ...
41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Presenter Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards ...
3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
... partnering with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies. 3D design software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...