47th New Zealand Parliament

The 47th New Zealand Parliament was a term of the Parliament of New Zealand. Its composition was determined by the 2002 elections, and it sat until 11 August 2005.

The Labour Party and the Progressive Party, backed by United Future, commanded a majority throughout the 47th Parliament. The Labour-led administration was in its second term. The National Party, although dealt a significant blow in the last election, remained the largest opposition party. Other non-government parties were New Zealand First, ACT, the Greens, and (from mid-2004) the Māori Party.

The 47th Parliament consisted of 120 representatives. Sixty-nine of these were chosen by geographical electorates, including seven Māori electorates. The remainder were elected by means of party-list proportional representation under the MMP electoral system.

Read more about 47th New Zealand Parliament:  Electoral Boundaries For The 47th Parliament, Initial Composition of The 47th Parliament, Changes During Term

Other articles related to "47th new zealand parliament, parliament":

47th New Zealand Parliament - Changes During Term
... Graham Kelly, a Labour list MP, left Parliament on 29 July 2003 to take up a position as High Commissioner to Canada ... Moana Mackey, the next candidate on Labour's party list, entered Parliament in his place ... the Supreme Court, she was expelled from Parliament on 19 November 2004 ...

Famous quotes containing the words parliament and/or zealand:

    He felt that it would be dull times in Dublin, when they should have no usurping government to abuse, no Saxon Parliament to upbraid, no English laws to ridicule, and no Established Church to curse.
    Anthony Trollope (1815–1882)

    Teasing is universal. Anthropologists have found the same fundamental patterns of teasing among New Zealand aborigine children and inner-city kids on the playgrounds of Philadelphia.
    Lawrence Kutner (20th century)