2010 Orange Bowl - Team Selection

Team Selection

The Orange Bowl is one of five Bowl Championship Series (BCS) bowl games that have been played at the conclusion of every college football season since 2006. As defined by contract, the bowl matches the champion of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) against an at-large pick chosen by a special committee. On December 5, 2009, the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets defeated the Clemson Tigers in the 2009 ACC Championship Game, thus winning an automatic bid to the 2010 Orange Bowl Game.

The at-large spot in the Orange Bowl was filled via a round-robin selection procedure defined by the other Bowl Championship series games (the Sugar, Fiesta, and Rose bowls) and the automatic bids. The order of at-large selections rotates annually among the BCS bowls. In 2010, after the bowls who lost host teams to the 2010 BCS National Championship Game chose their replacements, the Orange Bowl picked first, followed by the Fiesta Bowl, then the Sugar Bowl. Having lost their SEC tie-in (Alabama Crimson Tide) to the national title game, the Sugar Bowl chose the Florida Gators as the replacement. Likewise, the Fiesta Bowl picked the Texas Christian Horned Frogs to replace the Big-12 champion 2010 Texas Longhorns. The Orange Bowl then selected the Iowa Hawkeyes, while the Fiesta Bowl picked the Boise State Broncos to set up a battle of the unbeatens. The Sugar Bowl was thus left to select Big East Conference champion Cincinnati Bearcats, fulfilling the BCS' contractual obligation to provide a game for the conference's champion.

Read more about this topic:  2010 Orange Bowl

Other articles related to "team, team selection, teams, selections":

Jesse Hubbard - College Career
... He was a first team USILA All-American Team selection in 1996 and 1998 and second team selection in 1997 ... He was also first team All-Ivy League in 1996 (when he was Ivy League Player of the Year), 1997 and 1998 and a second team selection in 1995 (when he was named Ivy ... The 1995 team, which earned the school's sixth consecutive NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship invitation, was Ivy League co-champion, while the 1996–1998 teams were 6–0 undefeated ...
Iowa Hawkeyes Men's Basketball - Individual Honors - All-American Selections
... Each year, numerous publications and organizations release lists of All-America teams, hypothetical rosters of players considered the best in the nation at their respective positions ... officially recognized All-America selectors to determine the consensus selections ... Over time, the sources used to determine the consensus selections have varied ...
Mitre 10 Dream Home - The Teams - Team Selection
... Finalist teams are chosen and the finalist teams have the task of designing their Dream Home, the design must meet certain criteria such as being Environmentally Friendly, certain size and ... The potential teams are told whether they will become the blue or yellow team if chosen to compete in the competition ... The best possible blue team and best possible yellow team chosen by the judges will become the teams to compete to build their Dream Home ...

Famous quotes containing the words selection and/or team:

    Historians will have to face the fact that natural selection determined the evolution of cultures in the same manner as it did that of species.
    Konrad Lorenz (1903–1989)

    They’re two good old friends of mine. I call them Constitution and The Bill of Rights. A most dependable team for long journeys. Then I’ve got another one called Missouri Compromise. And a Supreme Court—a fine, dignified horse, though you have to push him on every now and then.
    Dan Totheroh (1895–1976)