2008 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament - Tournament Procedure

Tournament Procedure

For more details on this topic, see NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship#Tournament format.

The NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship is an annual single-elimination tournament featuring 65 teams representing all Division I Conferences in the nation. A "play-in" game determined which of the two lowest seeds would play in the first round of 64 against a top seed team. The Selection Committee seeded the entire field from 1 to 65 within four regionals of 16 teams; Mount St. Mary's, as the winner of the play-in game, automatically received a 16 seed. The first and second round games were played at the following sites, which were not restricted to any one particular Tournament Region, because of the "pod system":

March 20 and 22
Honda Center, Anaheim, California (Host: Big West Conference)
Pepsi Center, Denver, Colorado (Hosts: Colorado State University and Mountain West Conference)
Qwest Center Omaha, Omaha, Nebraska (Hosts: Creighton University and Missouri Valley Conference)
Verizon Center, Washington, D.C. (Host: Georgetown University)
March 21 and 23
BJCC Arena, Birmingham, Alabama (Host: Southeastern Conference)
Alltel Arena, North Little Rock, Arkansas (Host: University of Arkansas at Little Rock)
RBC Center, Raleigh, North Carolina (Host: North Carolina State University)
St. Pete Times Forum, Tampa, Florida (Host: University of South Florida)

The four regionals are officially named after their geographic areas, a practice that resumed in 2007. Between 2004 and 2006, the regionals were named for their host cities. The following arenas/stadia and cities were the sites for the 2008 regionals:

March 27 and 29
East Regional, Charlotte Bobcats Arena, Charlotte, North Carolina (Host: University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
West Regional, US Airways Center, Phoenix, Arizona (Host: Arizona State University)
March 28 and 30
Midwest Regional, Ford Field, Detroit, Michigan (Host: University of Detroit Mercy)
South Regional, Reliant Stadium, Houston, Texas (Hosts: University of Houston and Rice University)

Each regional winner advanced to the Final Four.

April 5 and 7
Alamodome, San Antonio, Texas (Host: University of Texas at San Antonio)

Read more about this topic:  2008 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament

Other articles related to "tournament procedure, tournament":

Tournament Of Champions (debate) - Tournament Procedure - Location
... Since its inception, the Tournament of Champions has been held on the campus of the University of Kentucky and at other locations in Lexington, Kentucky near the campus ... However, after competition on Saturday and Sunday, the tournament moves to a central location to conduct its annual "Breakfast of Champions" ceremony as well ... Since the 2007 Tournament of Champions, the final day of competition has taken place in conference rooms at the Downtown Hilton in Lexington, Kentucky ...