2006 Canary Foundation Grand Prix of San Jose

The 2006 Canary Foundation Grand Prix of San Jose was the ninth round of the 2006 Bridgestone Presents the Champ Car World Series Powered by Ford season, held on July 30, 2006 on the streets of San Jose, California. S├ębastien Bourdais dominated the weekend, taking the pole, fastest lap and race win. Finishing second was 2002 CART champion Cristiano da Matta in what turned out to be his final Champ Car event. On August 3 da Matta was severely injured while testing at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin when he collided with a deer on the track. While da Matta recovered to return to racing in 2008, competing in the Rolex Sports Car Series, he has not competed in open wheel racing since. The race is also notable for a shoving match between Canadians Paul Tracy and Alex Tagliani in the pits after Tracy crashed into Tagliani while trying to return to the race course from an escape road, ending both their races.

Read more about 2006 Canary Foundation Grand Prix Of San JoseQualifying Results, Race, Caution Flags

Famous quotes containing the words san, grand, canary and/or foundation:

    It is an odd thing, but every one who disappears is said to be seen at San Francisco. It must be a delightful city, and possess all the attractions of the next world.
    Oscar Wilde (1854–1900)

    We had heard of a Grand Fall on this stream, and thought that each fall we came to must be it, but after christening several in succession with this name, we gave up the search. There were more Grand or Petty Falls than I can remember.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    Cruelty is a mystery, and the waste of pain. But if we describe a word to compass these things, a world that is a long, brute game, then we bump against another mystery: the inrush of power and delight, the canary that sings on the skull.
    Annie Dillard (b. 1945)

    Laws remain in credit not because they are just, but because they are laws. That is the mystic foundation of their authority; they have no other.
    Michel de Montaigne (1533–1592)