2005 Giro D'Italia - Classification Leadership

Classification Leadership

In the 2005 Giro d'Italia, four different jerseys were awarded. For the general classification, calculated by adding each cyclist's finishing times on each stage, and allowing time bonuses for the first three finishers on mass-start stages, the leader received a pink jersey. This classification was considered the most important of the Giro d'Italia, and the winner was considered the winner of the Giro.

Additionally, there was a points classification, which awarded a purple, or cyclamen jersey. In the points classification, cyclists got points for finishing in the top 15 in a stage. In addition, points could be won in intermediate sprints.

There was also a mountains classification, the leadership of which was marked by a green jersey. In the mountains classifications, points were won by reaching the top of a climb before other cyclists. Each climb was categorized as either first, second, or third category, with more points available for the higher-categorized climbs. The Cima Coppi, the race's highest point of elevation, awarded still more points than the other first-category climbs. The Cima Coppi for this Giro was the Passo dello Stelvio. The first rider to cross the Stelvio was Selle Italia Colombia's José Rujano.

The fourth jersey represented the intergiro classification, marked by a blue jersey.

There were also two classification for the teams. The classification was the Trofeo Fast Team. In this classification, the times of the best three cyclists per team on each stage were added; the leading team was the team with the lowest total time; the Trofeo Super Team was a team points classification, with the top 20 placed riders on each stage earning points (20 for first place, 19 for second place and so on, down to a single point for 20th) for their team.

The rows in the following table correspond to the jerseys awarded after that stage was run.

Stage Winner General classification
Points classification
Mountains classification
Intergiro classification
Trofeo Fast Team Trofeo Super Team
P Brett Lancaster Brett Lancaster not awarded not awarded not awarded Fassa Bortolo not awarded
1 Paolo Bettini Paolo Bettini Paolo Bettini Thorwald Veneberg Sven Krauss Liquigas-Bianchi Davitamon-Lotto
2 Robbie McEwen Robbie McEwen Robbie McEwen
3 Danilo di Luca Paolo Bettini Dario Cioni Liquigas-Bianchi
4 Luca Mazzanti Paolo Bettini
5 Danilo di Luca Danilo di Luca Danilo di Luca José Rujano
6 Robbie McEwen Paolo Bettini Robbie McEwen Davitamon-Lotto
7 Koldo Gil Danilo di Luca Danilo di Luca Koldo Gil Lampre-Caffita Liquigas-Bianchi
8 Dave Zabriskie Liquigas-Bianchi
9 Alessandro Petacchi
10 Robbie McEwen Robbie McEwen Davitamon-Lotto
11 Paolo Savoldelli Ivan Basso José Rujano
12 Alessandro Petacchi
13 Iván Parra Paolo Savoldelli Paolo Bettini
14 Iván Parra Danilo di Luca Liquigas-Bianchi
15 Alessandro Petacchi Paolo Bettini Paolo Bettini Davitamon-Lotto
16 Christophe Le Mevel
17 Ivan Basso Stefano Zanini
18 Ivan Basso
19 José Rujano
20 Alessandro Petacchi
Final Paolo Savoldelli Paolo Bettini José Rujano Stefano Zanini Liquigas-Bianchi Davitamon-Lotto

Read more about this topic:  2005 Giro D'Italia

Other articles related to "classification leadership, classification":

1947 Tour De France - Results - Classification Leadership
... Stage General classification Mountains classification Team classification 1 Ferdinand Kübler (SUI) no award France-West 2 René Vietto (FRA) Belgium 3 Italy 6. 7 ...
1994 Vuelta A España - Classification Leadership
... Classification leadership by stage Stage Winner General classification Points classification Mountains classification Team classification P Tony Rominger Tony Rominger Tony ...

Famous quotes containing the word leadership:

    During the first World War women in the United States had a chance to try their capacities in wider fields of executive leadership in industry. Must we always wait for war to give us opportunity? And must the pendulum always swing back in the busy world of work and workers during times of peace?
    Mary Barnett Gilson (1877–?)