1990 NFL Season

The 1990 NFL season was the 71st regular season of the National Football League. To increase revenue, the league changed the regular season so that all NFL teams would play their 16-game schedule over a 17-week period. Furthermore, the playoff format was expanded from 10 teams to 12 teams by adding another wild card from each conference, thus adding two more contests to the postseason tournament.

This was also the first full season for Paul Tagliabue as the Commissioner, after taking over from Pete Rozelle midway through the previous season.

ABC was given the rights to televise the two additional playoff games. Meanwhile, Turner's TNT network started to broadcast Sunday night games for the first half of the season.

On October 8, the league announced that the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player Award would be named the Pete Rozelle Trophy. The season ended with Super Bowl XXV when the New York Giants defeated the Buffalo Bills.

Read more about 1990 NFL Season:  Major Rule Changes, Final Regular Season Standings, Awards

Other articles related to "1990 nfl season":

Monday Night Football Results (1990–2009) - 1990s - 1990 NFL Season
... The December 31 game started at 800 PM EST rather than 900 PM EST to allow New Year's Rockin' Eve to air as normal ... Super Bowl XXV is best remembered for its "final" play - Scott Norwood of the Buffalo Bills missed what would have been the game-winning field goal, as it sailed wide right ...

Famous quotes containing the word season:

    She, O, she is fallen
    Into a pit of ink, that the wide sea
    Hath drops too few to wash her clean again
    And salt too little which may season give
    To her foul tainted flesh!
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)