1989 British Speedway Under 21 Championship

1989 British Speedway Under 21 Championship

The British Speedway Under-21 Championship (also known as the British Junior Speedway Championship) is an annual speedway competition open to riders of British nationality aged at least fifteen on the date of the first meeting, and under twenty-one on 1 January in the year of the competition. Sixteen riders plus three reserves take part in 20 heats with each rider facing each other once. The two riders which accumulate the highest amount of points over the heats go straight to the final. The next four highest point scorers take part in a race-off, with first and second place riders also progressing to the final. The winner of the final is declared British Under-21 Champion. Previous winners include former World Champions Mark Loram and Gary Havelock. The 2009 championship was won by Lewis Bridger who defeated defending champion Tai Woffinden in the final. Joe Haines was third and Ben Barker finished fourth.

Read more about 1989 British Speedway Under 21 ChampionshipQualification, British Under-21 Champions, See Also

Other articles related to "1989 british speedway under 21 championship, british, championship, speedway":

1989 British Speedway Under 21 Championship - See Also
... British Speedway Championship British Speedway Under 18 Championship Speedway in the United Kingdom ...

Famous quotes containing the words speedway and/or british:

    The improved American highway system ... isolated the American-in-transit. On his speedway ... he had no contact with the towns which he by-passed. If he stopped for food or gas, he was served no local fare or local fuel, but had one of Howard Johnson’s nationally branded ice cream flavors, and so many gallons of Exxon. This vast ocean of superhighways was nearly as free of culture as the sea traversed by the Mayflower Pilgrims.
    Daniel J. Boorstin (b. 1914)

    Death is an incident producing clay. Use it, mold it, learn from it.
    John Gilling, British screenwriter. Dr. Knox (Peter Cushing)