1939 Iowa Hawkeyes Football Team - Postseason


  • Kinnick threw for 638 yards and 11 touchdowns on only 31 passes and ran for 374 yards and 5 touchdowns.
  • Kinnick was involved in 107 of the 130 points that Iowa scored and played 402 of a possible 420 minutes.
  • Kinnick set the school record with eight interceptions in a season, a record which still stands today.
  • Nile Kinnick won virtually every major award in the country. He was named:
    • A consensus first team All-American
    • The Big Ten MVP
    • The Walter Camp Award winner
    • The Maxwell Award winner
    • The Heisman Trophy winner
    • Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year
  • Iowa was ranked ninth in the final Associated Press (AP) poll.
  • Iowa did not attempt a field goal all season.
  • Erwin Prasse was a second team All-American.
  • Mike Enich actually played more minutes in 1939 than Nile Kinnick. In the final seven games, Kinnick played six complete games before leaving in the third quarter against Northwestern. Enich left the Indiana game in the fourth quarter before finishing the season by playing six complete games.
  • Nile Kinnick, Erwin Prasse, and Mike Enich were named all-Big Ten.

Read more about this topic:  1939 Iowa Hawkeyes Football Team

Other articles related to "postseason":

History Of The Washington Redskins
... They have made twenty-two postseason appearances, and have an overall postseason record of 23 wins and 17 losses ... The second period lasted between 1982 and 1991 where the Redskins appeared in the postseason seven times, captured four Conference titles, and won three Super Bowls ... was from 1946 to 1970, during which the Redskins did not have a single postseason appearance ...
List Of Atlanta Braves Managers - Table Key
... season WPct Winning percentage number of wins divided by number of games managed PA Postseason appearances number of years this manager has led the franchise to the ...
Doctor K - Career - Career Postseason Performance
... Gooden never won a postseason game, going 0–4 in the course of 9 postseason starts over eight series ...
Drake Bulldogs History - 1980s
... The lone loss to Tulsa costs a perfect season and postseason birth (teams shared the Missouri Valley Conference title) ... Women’s basketball wins three Missouri Valley Conference Championships and advances to six postseason tournaments ... the highest single-game individual scoring record in women’s collegiate postseason history, Lorri Bauman with 50) ...